Futsal: Top teams maintain unbeaten streak

Champions Luxol saw off Lija Athletic 4-3 while another three teams registered their third consecutive win in the Gatorade Futsal League.

It was not an easy stroll for the champions as Lija showed great resilience and courage throughout the game. However, it was not enough for the Reds to avoid defeat as a William Barbosa double and goals from Frane Despotovic and Carl Azzopardi saw Luxol through.
Lija answered back with goals scored by Luke Stivala, Ebrahim Massoudi and Chavi Montes Burgos.

Ħamrun Spartans maintained their positive momentum after beating Zebbug Rangers 11-4. The Spartans had a tough test as they were up against an organised Zebbug side who produced a stunning first half levelling the matters to 3-3 before half-time. In the second half, Hamrun upped their game to score eight more times and secure the precious three points.

Raphinha was the Spartans’ inspirational player as he hit the target six times. George Frendo and Rodrigo scored a brace while Michael Spiteri added another one. Anton Novoa Perez double, Gorg Borg and Jamie Portelli were on the mark for Zebbug.

Valletta produced a stunning performance after a 9-3 scoreline over Mdina Knights. Doubles for Dylan Musu, Denis di Maio, Mohammed Elamari and Jovica Milijic, added to a goal from Jurgen Pace, saw the Lilywhites through in the end. Leo Muscat, Cleavon Portelli and Dalziel Bugeja also contributed with goals for Mdina whose efforts, though bold, were ultimately not enough to cause an upset.

Msida obtained their third straight victory in the league despite having to endure a tenacious Qrendi side as the final 5-4 scoreline shows.

Marian Gologan double strike, Matthew Dingli, Floren Manea and Jeremy Cutajar scored the goals that mattered for Msida. Maxime Landais, Alan Spiteri, Owen Fiteni and Sasha Ciric were the scorers for Qrendi.

Sirens and Sliema ended a run of two straight defeats after beating fellow strugglers Mqabba (2-1) and Marsaskala (5-1) respectively to secure the first win of the season.

Valletta, Msida, Luxol, Hamrun 9, Swieqi, Mdina 6, Lija, Mqabba, Sliema, Zebbug, Sirens 3, Qrendi, Gozo, Marsaskala 0