Hibernians, St. Andrews through to FA Trophy fourth round

Hibernians and St. Andrews joined Balzan, Birkirkara, Floriana, Pembroke Athleta, Gzira United, Melita, Pietà Hotspurs, St. George’s and Gharghur in the fourth round of the FA Trophy as they defeated Mosta and Swieqi United respectively in the two third round matches in programme on Tuesday at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Champions Hibernians defeated Mosta 2-1 in a clash between two Premier League sides. Andrei Agius put Hibernians ahead on the 35th minute and Andrew Cohen doubled the score on the 73rd. Five minutes later, Gustavo De Paulo pulled one back for Mosta. Gilmar was sent off for Hibernians three minutes from time.

Hibernians will be facing another Premier League side, Pembroke Athleta in the fourth round.

MOSTA Omar Borg, Edile Micheletti, Dyson Falzon (81′ Ian Zammit), Tyrone Farrugia, Hassan Yau, Kyle Frendo (59′ Edin Murga), Osa Guobadia (83′ Ryan Grech), Onyekachi Okonkwo, Manolito Micallef, Gustavo De Paulo Silva, Jonas Rodriguez Ekani.
Coach: Anton Cremona

HIBS Jurgen Borg, Rui da Gracia Gomes, Jackson di Lima Siqueira, Marcelo Dias (72′ Joseph Mbong), Andrew Cohen (77′ Jonathan Pearson), Bjorn Kristensen, Clayton Failla, Andrei Agius, Jorge da Silva Pereira (90′ Jean Paul Farrugia), Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro, Jorge Santos Silva.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

Referee: Philip Farrugia
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Jurgen Spiteri
Fourth Official: Sandro Spiteri

Meanwhile in the first match, Premier League wooden-spoonists St. Andrews registered their first win this season as they eliminated Second Division side Swieqi United 4-2.

St. Andrews managed to take the lead on the 15th minute thanks to a goal by Kyrian Nwoko. Two minutes later, Jacob Walker doubled the score. Bruno Menezes pulled one back for Swieqi but Matthew Guillaumier scored twice on the 44th and the 58th to put the Saints’ victory beyond doubt. An own goal by Clyde Cumbo three minutes from time reduced the gap for Swieqi.

In the next round, St. Andrews face First Division leaders Gzira United.

SWIEQI Luke Pace, Matthew Asciak, Daniel Mifsud, Jonathan Briscoe White, Kristian Sultana, Glendon Refalo, Jean Claude Borg (52′ Kenneth Ekezie), Patrick Briscoe White, Bruno Menezes (76 Thomas Philip Debono), Daniel Calleja Cremona (52′ Azzopardi), Matteo Caribotti.
Coach: Billy Mock

ST. ANDREWS Dorian Bugeja, Clyde Cumbo, Eloy Edu Nkene, Liam Grech, Nick Ghio (37′ Wade Moodley), Dale Camilleri, Joseph Farrugia, Matthew Guillaumier, Michael Grima, Kyrian Nwoko (74′ Manuel Stefanoni), Jacob Walker (60′ Matteo Desira Buttigieg).
Coach: Jose Borg

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Chris Francalanza
Fourth Official: Adrian Azzopardi