St. Andrews eliminate Gzira United after penalty shoot-out

St. Andrews, Floriana and Sliema Wanderers moved to the quarter-finals of the FA Trophy after defeating Gzira United, Lija Athletic and Gharghur respectively.

At the National Stadium, St. Andrews defeated BOV First Division leaders Gzira United on penalties following a 1-1 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time. The Saints, who had defeated Swieqi United in the third round, were on the receiving end for long stretches with the Maroons, who had eliminated Sirens and Zabbar St. Patrick, have only themselves to blame for the missed chances.

New Gzira recruit Ian Zammit put them ahead on the 7th minute but Lucky Victor Oseghale, one of six new faces in the St. Andrews squad, levelled matters on the 73rd. The game went into extra-time but with no goals being scored, penalties had to decide the issue.

In the penalty shoot-out, Joseph Farrugia scored, Moises Avila Perez’s effort was parried by St. Andrews goalkeeper Jake Galea, Lucky Victor Oseghale scored, Ian Zammit scored, Bong Won Che scored, Yanis Tonna scored, Michael Grima’s effort was neutralised by Anthony Curmi, Louis Rene Zome’s was parried by Galea and Matteo Desira Buttigieg converted to put St. Andrews through.

ST. ANDREWS Jake Galea, Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Dale Camilleri, Bong Won Che, Jonathan Perez Cuesta (110′ Kyrian Nwoko), Sorin Oproiescu (62′ Matteo Desira Buttigieg), Joseph Farrugia, Chenato Francis Onwudinjo, Michael Johnson, Michael Wisdom Salomon (119′ Michael Grima), Lucky Victor Oseghale.
Coach: Jose Borg

GZIRA Anthony Curmi, Daniel Scerri, Andre White, Jamie Pace, Gabriel Aquilina (109′ Louis Rene Zome), Jonathan Bondin, Ian Zammit, Moises Avila Perez, Sacha Borg, Brooke Farrugia (66′ Karl Pulo), Yanis Tonna.
Coach: Darren Abdilla

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Jurgen Spiteri, David Castillo
Fourth Official: Glen Tonna

At the Centenary Stadium, Sliema Wanderers scored twice in the final fifteen minutes to turn defeat into victory and beat Second Division side Gharghur.

The Wanderers, who had defeated Vittoriosa Stars in the third round, therefore survived an early scare against a team which is currently joint-second in the BOV Second Division, who had eliminated Zurrieq and St. Venera Lightnings.

Christian Stewart put Gharghur ahead on the 10th minute; Johann Bezzina levelled matters on the 75th and two minutes from time, Alex Muscat notched the winner.

GHARGHUR Zach Valletta, Matthew Fleri Soler, Pierre Grima, Keith Fedele, Ryan Sell, Nigel Vella (65′ Karl Azzopardi), Steve Dimech, Martin Deyanov, Christian Stewart, Ayrton Buhagiar (50′ Nicky Zammit), Isaac Chircop (89′ Mauro Busuttil).
Coach: Borislav Giorev

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Alex Muscat, Mark Scerri, Rafael Ledesma (90+3′ Omar Elouni), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Marko Potezica (61′ Luke Dimech), Aidan Jake Friggieri, Johann Bezzina, Kyle Hendry, Gary Muir, Stefano Bianciardi.
Coach: Stephen Azzopardi

Referee: Stefan Pace
Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, Ryan Aquilina
Fourth Official: Alan Mario Sant

Floriana beat First Division side Lija Athletic 2-1 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Lija, who had eliminated Premier side Naxxar Lions, after defeating Mellieha, failed to repeat themselves, although they managed to give the Greens a hard time. Floriana had defeated St. Laurence Spurs in the previous round.

Following a goalless first half, Floriana managed to break the deadlock on the 66th thanks to Juninho Cabral. Three minute later, Nicolas Chiesa doubled the score. Lija pulled one back ten minutes from time through Ige Abdullahi Adeshina.

FLORIANA Matthew Grech, Andre Scicluna, Enrico Pepe, Juninho Cabral, Simeon Ezeadi, Matteo Picciollo, Daniel Agius, Firas Aboulezz (46′ Antonio Monticelli), Emanuel Briffa, Nicolas Chiesa (72′ Steve Pisani), Mario Fontanella.

LIJA Kurt Rizzo, Clayton Giordimaina, Predrag Babic, Patrick Borg, Erjon Beu, Roderick Taliana (76′ Kurt Cutajar), Antoine Borg, McAllister Clinch, Adrian Caruana (72′ Leon Muscat), Jorge Garcia Vidal, Ige Abdullahi Adeshina (90′ Lee Joe Schembri).

Referee: Matthew Degabriele
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Martin Borg
Fourth Official: Sandro Spiteri