Aphrodite Cup: Narrow defeat for Malta

A goal twelve minutes from time denied Malta another positive result as the women’s national team led by Mark Gatt lost 0-1 to hosts Cyprus in the 2nd edition of the Aphrodite Cup in Limassol on Tuesday.

Malta therefore ends its commitments with a win, a draw and two narrow defeats.

MALTA Janice Xuereb; Gabriella Zahra (86′ Kelly Agius Pace), Stephania Farrugia, Dorianne Theuma, Rachel Cuschieri, Alishia Sultana (80′ Emma Xuereb), Martina Borg (45′ Ylenia Carabott), Jade Flask, Shona Zammit, Charlene Zammit, Brenda Borg.