BOV Division 1: Senglea Athletic take third place

Senglea Athletic secured the third place in the BOV First Division and hence the play-off spot after beating neighbours St. George’s 4-2 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Sunday. A win which put them seven points ahead of Pietà Hotspurs.

Jurgen Farrugia put Senglea ahead on the 13th minute but Kenneth Abela equalised on the 27th. Just before half-time, Ryan Dalli restored the lead for Senglea but Ren Mizugashira made it 2-2 nine minutes in the second half. Ryan Dalli converted a penalty on the 73rd and Miguel Ciantar sealed the issue with another goal in added time.

Hamrun Spartans maintained alive hopes of securing the title after rescuing a point in a 1-1 draw with Pietà Hotspurs at the Centenary Stadium. However they could only force a decider if they beat Zebbug and Gzira lose the last game against St. George’s. Jason Gorskie put the Hotspurs ahead after just eight minutes with Haruna Garba notching the equaliser two minutes in added time.

In another match at the Centenary Stadium, Melita also rescued a point in a delicate clash with San Gwann – two teams who are still fighting against relegation. Stacey Vella put San Gwann ahead on the 7th minute but a penalty five minutes in stoppage-time by Julian Galea allowed the Amateurs to stay three points clear. Therefore a draw against Vittoriosa would be enough for Melita to secure their status and condemn San Gwann to Division 2. San Gwann, on the other hand, have to beat Pietà and hope that Melita lose in order to force a decider.

Fgura United made sure of avoiding relegation after defeating Zebbug Rangers 3-1 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Steven Sandoval Escobar put Fgura ahead on the 39th but one minute from half-time a penalty by Angelo Catania levelled matters. However another penalty, this time converted by Andre Farrugia for Fgura, made it 2-1 on the 64th, and Francisco Arrigada Mella added another on the 79th.

Gzira lead the way with 61 points, followed by Hamrun on 58, Senglea 51, Pietà 44, Lija 40, Vittoriosa 36, Mqabba and Zebbug 32, Rabat and Fgura 29, Melita 27, San Gwann 24, St. George’s 19 and Gudja 9.