FA Trophy 2016/17 First Round and Second Round draws

New-FA-Trophy-smallSixty-five teams will be taking part in the 79th edition of the FA Trophy. In fact all clubs within the MFA and GFA are taking part apart from Gozitan duo Sannat Lions and Zebbug Rovers. The draws for the First Round and Second Round featuring clubs from the BOV First Division, BOV Second Division, BOV Third Division and Gozitan clubs were held on Wednesday at the National Stadium. Premier League clubs enter the competition in the third round.

A new trophy will be presented as from this season. A trophy which was unveiled last May and which will be formally presented by The FA to the Malta Football Association on October 8 at Wembley Stadium.

The Preliminary Round match will be held on September 3. First Round matches will be played between the 9th and 11th September while the Second Round is scheduled for the weekend 21st to 23rd October.

Preliminary Round
1. Xghajra Tornados vs Gharb Rangers

First Round
2. Kirkop United vs Marsaskala
3. Mdina Knights vs Victoria Hotspurs
4. Kalkara vs Ghajnsielem
5. Oratory Youths vs Dingli Swallows
6. Msida St. Joseph vs Luqa St. Andrew’s
7. Nadur Youngsters vs Winner Match 1 (XGH-GHRB)
8. Mtarfa vs Xaghra United
9. Ta’ Xbiex vs Munxar Falcons
10. Santa Lucia vs Kercem Ajax
11. Qala Saints vs Xewkija Tigers
12. St. Venera Lightnings vs SK Victoria Wanderers
13. St. Laurence Spurs vs Zurrieq

Second Round
Winner match 2 (KIR-MSK) vs Pieta Hotspurs
Winner match 6 (MSI-LUQ) vs Mqabba
Marsaxlokk vs San Gwann
Qormi vs Winner match 11 (QAL-XEW)
Winner match 9 (TXB-MUN) vs Gharghur
Mellieha vs Birzebbuga St. Peter’s
Melita vs Winner match 12 (STV-SKVW)
Attard vs Vittoriosa Stars
Zebbug Rangers vs Fgura United
Winner match 10 (STL-KER) vs Marsa
Lija Athletic vs Winner match 13 (STLS-ZUR)
Mgarr United vs Zabbar St. Patrick
Senglea Athletic vs Winner match 8 (MTA-XAGH)
Naxxar Lions vs Winner match 4 (KAL-GHJ)
Qrendi vs Winner match 5 (ORAT-DIN)
Rabat Ajax vs Sirens
St. George’s vs Siggiewi
Ghaxaq vs Winner match 7 (NAD-XGH-GHRB)
Swieqi United vs Gudja United
Winner match 3 (MDI-VHOT) vs Zejtun Corinthians