FA Trophy: Another four Gozitan clubs secure second round spot

New-FA-Trophy-smallOratory Youths, Kercem Ajax, Xewkija Tigers and SK Victoria Wanderers were the last four teams to reach the second round of the FA Trophy as three of them managed to eliminate Third Division clubs.

Oratory Youths found no difficulty in beating Third Division side Dingli Swallows 5-0 at the Gozo Stadium. Bartomeu Perelló Palou opened the score on the 10th minute and Everton Felipe da Silva Santos scored twice on the 35th and a penalty on the 41st to increase the lead to 3-0. Before half-time, Iñigo Dolara Allende scored a fourth goal with Borja Polo Longarela adding a fifth goal on the 72nd.

Oratory Youths face Second Division side Qrendi in the second round.

In another match at the Gozo Stadium, GFA Super Cup winners Xewkija Tigers defeated Qala Saints. Thiago Melo dos Santos put the Tigers ahead on the 31st minute and Daniel Bogdanovic doubled the score five minutes from the end of the first half. Nine minutes in the second half, Thiago Melo Dos Santos scored the third goal and a brace by Dene Shields in three minutes between the 65th and 68th increased by the lead further before Thiago Melo Dos Santos made it 6-0 ten minutes from time.

Xewkija meet First Division side Qormi in the next round.

Trayo Grozev was the hero for Kercem Ajax as they defeated Third Division side Santa Lucia at the Luxol Stadium. The Bulgarian striker converted a penalty on the 31st, doubled the score two minutes in the second half and sealed the issue with a third goal on the 72nd.

Kercem take on First Division side Marsa in the second round.

In another match at the Luxol Stadium, SK Victoria Wanderers defeated Sta. Venera Lightnings 3-0. Igor Grkajac put the Gozitans ahead on the 20th and doubled the score on the 39th. Four minutes in the second half, Aleksandar Komljenovic scored a third goal for Mark Buttigieg’s side.

The Wanderers take on First Division side Melita in the next stage.

Therefore the only two Third Division clubs which reached the second round are Kirkop United and Msida St. Joseph along with Gozitan clubs Victoria Hotspurs, Ghajnsielem, Oratory Youths, Nadur Youngsters, Xaghra United, Munxar Falcons, Kercem Ajax, Xewkija Tigers, SK Victoria Wanderers and St. Laurence Spurs.