St. Andrews stroll past Wanderers

standrews-sliema160921jonbSt. Andrews scored three second-half goals as they returned to winning ways, defeating Sliema Wanderers 3-0 at the National Stadium on Wednesday.

The Wanderers, fresh from their 2-1 win over Birkirkara, were a complete disappointment. This was the fourth defeat in five matches. For the Saints, this was the second win.

Sliema had one change as Glenn Zammit replaced the injured Giuseppe Sarao. On the other hand, for St. Andrews, Ryan Darmanin replaced Dale Camilleri in the starting line-up as Ante Bakmaz was still unavailable.

Following a goalless first half, St. Andrews managed to break the deadlock five minutes in the second half when off a Joseph Farrugia corner from the right, Ryan Darmanin headed home past goalkeeper Glenn Zammit.

Nine minutes later, the Saints doubled the score when they were awarded a penalty after Daniel Brandle was pushed down inside the area by Wisdom Salomon and from the penalty spot, Joseph Farrugia made no mistake.

St. Andrews moved three goals ahead on the 68th when Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre concluded a brilliant solo effort with a sprint from the Saints’ penalty area to the other side of the pitch and slotted the ball past the Sliema custodian.

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”pic_id” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”14″]

ST. ANDREWS Jake Galea, Michael Johnson, Karlo Kesinovic, Bong Won Che, Felix Udoh Okon, Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Ryan Darmanin (80′ Ryan Sammut), Joseph Farrugia (76′ Dale Camilleri), Daniel Brandle (71′ Jacob Walker), Ziga Kastrevec, Ivan Edgardo Paz.
Subs not used: Dean Sciberras, Liam Grech, Mark Scicluna, Jamie Magri Overend.
Coach: Jose Borg

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Alex Muscat, Gary Muir, Aidan Jake Friggieri (59′ Ryan Spiteri), Beppe Muscat, Michel Wisdom Salomon Aka, Mathias Muchardi (69′ Peter Xuereb), John Mintoff, Mark Scerri, Milos Galin (59′ Jean Paul Farrugia), Marko Potezica.
Subs not used: Miguel Bonnici, Gabriel Aquilina, Michele Sansone, Armando Vieira dos Santos Tarlazis.
Coach: John Buttigieg

Referee: Malcolm Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Martin Borg
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia
Yellow Cards: Brandle, Salomon
Scorers: 50′ Ryan Darmanin, 59′ Joseph Farrugia pen, 68′ Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre
BOV Player of the Match: Ivan Edgardo Paz