Valletta turn defeat into victory to lift BOV Super Cup

Champions Valletta lifted the first major honour for season 2016/17 as they came from behind to beat FA Trophy winners Sliema Wanderers 2-1 in the BOV Super Cup at the National Stadium on Wednesday.

This was the eleventh Super Cup success for the Citizens and the third time they defeated the Blues to lift this cup which usually kicks-off the new season in August but had to be postponed until now this year due to the installation of the new hybrid pitch at the National Stadium in summer.

The Wanderers took the lead on the 21st minute when Denni released Jean Paul Farrugia on the left and the latter ran past Steve Borg before beating goalkeeper Dziugas Bartkus.

Valletta equalised on the 35th when off a Jhonnattann corner from the right, Steve Borg hit low past goalkeeper Glenn Zammit.

The Citizens forged ahead one minute from half-time when Leandro Aguirre released Jhonnattann on the left and off the latter’s cross, Uchenna Calistus Umeh slotted the ball past the Sliema custodian.

On the 62nd minute, referee Malcolm Spiteri ordered a penalty after Steve Borg pulled Jean Paul Farrugia down inside the area; however captain Alex Muscat’s effort from the penalty spot was neutralised by Bartkus.

Michael Mifsud was unlucky not to increase the lead on the 69th when he concluded a good run on the right flank with a cross shot which hit the crossbar.

Malta Football Association President Norman Darmanin Demajo and BOV Chief Offier Ernest Agius presented the medals and trophy to the winners

VALLETTA Dziugas Bartkus, Jonathan Caruana, Steve Borg (79′ Romeu Pericles Romao), Ryan Camilleri, Michael Mifsud, Llywelyn Cremona (64′ Jean Borg), Claudio Pani, Uchenna Calistus Umeh (89′ Luke Montebello), Leandro Aguirre, Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao, Valdo Goncalves Alhinho.
Subs not used: Henry Bonello, Russell Fenech, Nicholas Pulis, Leon Camilleri, Romeu Pericles Romao.
Coach: Paul Zammit

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Alex Muscat, Armando Vieira dos Santos Tarlazis (62′ Gabriel Aquilina), Peter Xuereb (80′ Ryan Spiteri), Mark Scerri, Roger de Souza Villas Boas, Stefano Bianciardi, John Mintoff, Jean Paul Farrugia, Wisdom Salomon, Denni Rocha dos Santos.
Subs not used: Giuseppe Sarah, Beppe Muscat, Gary Muir, Michele Sansone, Kurt Shaw.
Coach: John Buttigieg

Referee: Malcolm Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, William Debattista
Additional Assistant Referees: Mario Apap, Glen Tonna
Fourth Official: Peter Abela
Yellow Cards: Mandinho, Alhinho, S. Borg, Pani, Wisdom
Attendance: 1,430