BOV Division 3: Kalkara move four points clear

Leaders Kalkara extended the lead in the BOV Third Division as they defeated Zurrieq 4-1 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Ryan Sell put Kalkara ahead on the 10th minute and four minutes later, Timmy Thomas doubled the score. Radnor Farrugia converted a penalty for Zurrieq to reduce the gap two minutes from the end of the first half but Kalkara extended the lead thanks to goals by Ryan Sell on the 68th and Jonathan Xerri two minutes later.

Luqa St. Andrew’s registered a fourth consecutive win as they beat Dingli Swallows 3-0 at the Centenary Stadium. Following a goalless first half, Jason Good put Luqa ahead on the 53rd minute. Six minutes from time, Samba Camara doubled the score and three minutes in added time, Lee Baldacchino converted a penalty for Luqa’s third goal.

Kirkop United found no difficulty in beating Marsaskala 6-1 at the Centenary Stadium. Michael Theuma gave Kirkop a two goal lead with goals on the 4th and 32nd. Ronald Spina made it 3-0 four minutes from the end of the first half and six minutes after the break, the same player scored Kirkop’s fourth goal. Three minutes later, Kalil Guilherme da Rosa made it 5-0 and although Nestor Luis Canas pulled one back for Marsaskala on the 65th, Eric Zammit made it 6-1 eight minutes from time.

St. Venera Lightnings defeated Ta’ Xbiex 4-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium. A brace by Jonathan Micallef on the 17th and 33rd and a Danijel Vasic penalty on the 45th gave the Lightnings a comfortable lead before half-time. In the second half, William Camilleri scored a fourth goal with Riccardo Napoli reducing the gap a minute later.

At the Charles Abela Stadium, Xghajra Tornados defeated Mtarfa 4-0 thanks to goals by Antoine Barbara on the 27th, Noel Tabone on the 38th and a brace by Royter Degiorgio on the 77th and 88th.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, Msida St. Joseph came from behind to beat Mdina Knights 3-1. Ayrton Buhagiar put Mdina ahead but a Glanville Goodlip enalty two minutes later restored equilibrium. Clint Zammit handed Msida the three points with goals on the 20th and 60th.

Kalkara lead the way with 30 points, followed by Santa Lucia and Luqa on 26, Xghajra 24, Kirkop 22, Sta. Venera 21, Mdina 18, Msida 17, Dingli 11, Zurrieq 10, Ta’ Xbiex 9, Mtarfa 6 and Marsaskala 3.