BOV Division 3: Kalkara move six points clear

Leaders Kalkara moved six points clear thanks to a win over Dingli Swallows while Santa Lucia were held in a draw, allowing Xghajra Tornados to join them in second place.

At the Charles Abela Stadium, Kalkara beat Dingli Swallows 5-0. Ryan Sell gave them a two-goal lead with two goals in five minutes between the 23rd and 28th. Beppe Antignolo made it 3-0 on the 56th and eight minutes later, Simon Aquilina scored the fourth goal. TImothy Thomas scored Kalkara’s fifth ten minutes from time.

Like Kalkara, Santa Lucia extended their unbeaten record to thirteen matches but this time, they were held in a goalless draw by Kirkop United in another match at the Charles Abela Stadium.

Xghajra Tornados registered a fourth consecutive win as they beat Marsaskala 2-1 at the Luxol Stadium to move on level points with Santa Lucia in second place. Marsaskala took the lead thanks to a goal by Gilmour Fenech on the 32nd but Royter Degiorgio equalised one minute from the end of the first half and Gary Mifsud notched the winner ten minutes in the second half.

At the Sirens Stadium, St. Venera Lightnings defeated Mtarfa 2-1 thanks to a Danijel Vasic penalty on the half-hour and a goal by William Camilleri nine minutes in the second half. Josef Bouzgenda scored a consolation goal for Mtarfa five minutes from time. 

A goal by Leontiev Konda on the 90th minute gave Zurrieq a dramatic win over Mdina Knights at the Luxol Stadium.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, Msida St. Joseph defeated neighbours Ta’ Xbiex 3-0 thanks to a goal by Andrew Formosa two minutes from the end of the first half, an own goal on the 45th and a Glanville Goodlip penalty ten minutes in the second half.

Kalkara lead the way with 33 points, followed by Santa Lucia and Xghajra on 27, Luqa 26, Sta. Venera 24, Kirkop 23, Msida 20, Mdina 18, Zurrieq 13, Dingli 11, Ta’ Xbiex 9, Mtarfa 6 and Marsaskala 3.