BOV Division 2: Dramatic win for Zabbar in top-of-the-table clash

A brace by Jean Claude Cesare gave Zabbar St. Patrick their eighth consecutive win as they defeated leaders Zejtun Corinthians at the Luxol Stadium on Sunday in the top-of-the-table clash in the BOV Second Division.

It was a most dramatic win for Alfred Attard’s side as Zejtun had managed to take the lead on the 10th minute thanks to Kumpei Tanaka and Jean Claude Cesare equalised on the 35th but three minutes in added time, Cesare converted a penalty for St. Patrick to hand them the three points.

Qrendi defeated Siggiewi 3-2 in an entertaining clash at the Luxol Stadium. Jason Camilleri put Siggiewi ahead after just eight minutes but Giovanni Galea equalised on the 34th and eight minutes in the second half, Tonio D’Amato made it 2-1. Another goal by Giovanni Galea on the 55th increased the lead for Qrendi although Jason Camilleri converted a penalty for Siggiewi ten minutes from time.

San Gwann found no difficulty in beating Gudja United 6-0 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Sergio Hili opened the score on the 15th and Andre Cachia doubled the score on the 31st. Ryan Zammit made it 3-0 six minutes in the second half before Abeeb Abiodun Williams notched a hat-trick with goals on the 62nd, 76th and 85th.

At the Charles Abela Stadium, Marsaxlokk returned to winning ways as they beat Ghaxaq 3-1. Darren Sciberras opened the score on the 7th minute and doubled the score twelve minutes in the second half. Jurgen Gerada pulled one back for Ghaxaq on the 69th but Gary Caruana sealed the issue one minute in added time.

Mgarr United and Birzebbuga St. Peter’s shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw at the Sirens Stadium. Ronnie Celeste put Birzebbuga ahead three minutes in the second half and six minutes from time, Lazar Doric levelled matters for Mgarr.

The clash between Mellieha and St. George’s at the Sirens Stadium ended in a goalless draw.

Zejtu lead the way with 35 points, followed by Zabbar on 34, San Gwann and Qrendi on 31, Birzebbuga and Siggiewi 21, Swieqi 20, Attard 17, St. George’s 14, Mgarr 13, Marsaxlokk 12, Gudja and Mellieha 9 and Ghaxaq 8.