BOV Division 2: Zejtun, Zabbar promoted

Zejtun Corinthians and Zabbar St. Patrick were the first two teams to secure promotion to the First Division as they both registered wins in two of the six matches from the BOV Second Division on Sunday.

Zejtun Corinthians registed a 3-0 win over Birzebbuga St. Peter’s at the Charles Abela Stadium thanks to goals by Kyle Buttigieg after just one minute, Anthony Ewurum on the 28th and Clayton Giordimaina on the 90th.

A goal on the 56th minute by Shalon Diacono gave Zabbar St. Patrick a narrow win over Siggiewi at the Sirens Stadium.

Qrendi defeated Gudja United 7-1 at the Luxol Stadium to move to just one point away from promotion. Ironically Cleaven Portelli put Gudja ahead after just seven minutes but nine minutes later, Qrendi equalised thanks to Tonio Damato. Dhonatan Santos da Hora made it 2-1 on the 38th and three minutes alter, Clayton Caruana scored the third goal. During the second half, Qrendi scored another four goals thanks to Giovanni Galea on the 58th, Dassier Sammut on the 61st, Darrell Grech on the 65th and Giovanni Galea six minutes from time.

San Gwann beat Swieqi United 5-1 in another match at the Luxol Stadium. Jan Tanti gave San Gwann the lead on the 28th minute and although Glendon Refalo converted a penalty on the 38th to level matters for Swieqi, a penalty by Abeeb Abiodun Williams restored the lead for San Gwann six minutes in the second half. Sergio Hili then notched a hat-trick with goals on the 67th, 69th and 74th to increase the lead further.

Marsalokk returned to winning ways as they beat St. George’s 4-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium thanks to goals by Andre Cassar on the 6th, a Thomas Francis Grech brace on the 32nd and 42nd and a Darren Sciberras penalty twelve minutes in the second half with Dylan Caruana scoring a consolation goal for the Cospicua side on the 90th.

Mellieha collected three precious points in the battle against relegation as they defeated Mgarr United 2-1. Chstiain Stewart put Mellieha ahead on the 32nd and Nicholas Zammit doubled the score on the 52nd. Kenneth Aquilina pulled one back for Mgarr on the 69th minute.

Zejtun lead the way with 51 points, followed by Zabbar on 49, Qrendi 47, San Gwann 46, Birzebbuga 29, Siggiewi and Swieqi 27, Mgarr 22, Attard 21, Marsaxlokk 17, Mellieha and St. George’s 16, Gudja 15 and Ghaxaq 8.