BOV Division 3: Santa Lucia hit eight past Ta’ Xbiex

Santa Lucia maintained the challenge for promotion with an impressive 8-1 win over Ta’ Xbiex at the Sirens Stadium in one of the six BOV Third Division matches in programme on Sunday.

Shaun Vella put Santa Lucia ahead on the 29th minute and although Paul Francis Sumaila equalised on the 41st, a minute later, Vella restored the lead for Santa Lucia. After the break, the game was one-way traffic thanks to goals by GIlbert Camilleri on the 49th and 56th, Sebastian Perdomo on the 59th, Camilleri once again on the 62nd and Perdomo again on the 66th and finally Yerson Ali Cuero Murillo six minutes from time.

Leaders Kalkara registered a 6-0 win over Marsaskala at the Charles Abela Stadium thanks to goals by Timmy Thomas on the 8th minute, Beppe Antignolo on the 37th, Timmy Thomas once again on the 57th, Matthew Schembri on the 75th, Justin Felice on the 85th and Ryan Sell on the 91st minute.

Luqa St. Andrew’s dropped three important points in a 2-3 defeat to Kirkop United at the Sirens Stadium. Lee Baldacchino put Luqa ahead on the 12th minute but goals by Michael Theuma on the 23rd and Karl Caruana on the 39th turned the score in Kirkop’s favour. Claudio Calleja restored equilibrium on the 63rd but Iliasu Olayiwola Salaudeen notched the winner for Kirkop two minutes in added time.

St. Venera Lightnings defeated Dingli Swallows 3-0 at the Luxol Stadium thanks to goals by Joseph Chetcuti on the 24th, Danijel Vasic on the 33rd and Joseph Chetcuti on the 62nd.

Msida St. Joseph survived a good comeback by Zurrieq to beat them 4-3 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Fabio Muscat put Msida ahead on the 3rd minute, Clint Zammit doubled the score on the 10th and Muscat added another on the 44th. Four minutes in the second half, Scott Stewart scored a fourth goal for Msida. Leontiev Konda then hit back with a hat-trick for Zurrieq – a penalty on the 52nd, a goal on the hour and another penalty on the 66th.

Mtarfa returned to winning ways as they beat Mdina Knights 4-1 at the Luxol Stadium. Marway Mohamed Ali Alforjani gave Mtarfa a two-goal lead with goals on the 35th and 37th, Warren Zerafa made it 3-0 five minutes in the second half and five minutes from time, Alforjani added another. Matthew Fenech scored a consolation goal for Mdina two minutes in added time.

Kalkara lead the way with 49 points, followed by Luqa on 41, Santa Lucia 40, Sta. Venera 37, Msida 36, Xghajra 34, Kirkop 32, Zurrieq 25, Mdina 24, Dingli 19, Mtarfa and Ta’ Xbiex 10 and Marsaskala 3.