BOV Division 2: Zejtun Corinthians crowned champions

Zejtun Corinthians were crowned as champions in the BOV Second Division despite a goalless draw at the Luxol Stadium in one of the six matches in programme on Saturday.

San Gwann and Qrendi shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw at the Sirens Stadium in a clash between the teams lying in third and second place respectively. Dassier Sammut put Qrendi ahead six minutes from the end of the first half and Abeeb Abiodun Williams levelled matters four minutes from time.

Mellieha and Gudja United earned a point each in a 1-1 draw at the Charles Abela Stadium. Charles Ikenna Kean gave Mellieha the lead on the 54th but Dylan Lee Tanti equalised on the 77th.

Mgarr United registered a comfortable 4-0 win over Ghaxaq at the Sirens Stadium thanks to goals by Jean Paul Zammit on the 25th, Chris Saliba on the 45th, Gianluca Theuma on the 69th and Jamie Micallef on the 83rd.

Shalon Diacono notched a hat-trick for St. Patrick in a 4-0 win over Attard at the Luxol Stadium. Diacono scored on the 19th and 45th to put them two goals ahead during the first half. Kurt Cutajar made it 3-0 on the 57th and Diacono converted a penalty fifteen minutes from time.

Swieqi United defeated Birzebbuga St. Peter’s 2-1 in another match at the Charles Abela Stadium. Nicholas Schembri gave Swieqi a two-goal lead within seven minutes between the 61st and 68th with Luca Santoiemma reducing the gap seven minutes from time.

Zejtun lead the way with 62 points, followed by Qrendi on 58, San Gwann 57, Zabbar 56, Swieqi 37, Birzebbuga 33, Siggiewi 32, Mgarr 29, Attard 27, Marsaxlokk and Gudja 22, Mellieha 21, St. George’s 20 and Ghaxaq 11.