BOV Division 3: Luqa St. Andrew’s promoted

Luqa St. Andrew’s were the third team to secure promotion to Division 2 after beating Zurrieq in one of the BOV Third Division matches in programme on Sunday.

At the Luxol Stadium, Luqa defeated Zurrieq 2-1 thanks to a brace by Lee Baldacchino – a goal on the 13th and a penalty on the 44th with Bjorn Chetcuti scoring a consolation goal for Zurrieq seven minutes in the second half.

Santa Lucia registered a most comfortable 9-1 win over Marsaskala at the Centenary Stadium. Andre Joe Cutajar put Santa Lucia ahead on the 7th minute and although Nestor Luis Silva Canas converted a penalty for Marsaskala on the 20th, they were quick to regain the lead with a brace by Gilbert Camilleri on the 31st and 36th with Cutajar scoring a fourth goal on the 39th. Jean Claude Annati made it 5-1 on the 61st with Sebastian Perdomo scoring a sixth goal five minutes later. Omar Farrugia added another on the 73rd with Sebastian Perdomo scoring another two goals in the final four minutes.

Champions Kalkara killed any hopes of Msida St. Joseph winning promotion as they defeated them 2-0 at the Centenary Stadium thanks to goals by Beppe Antignolo on the 42nd and Timothy Thomas three minutes in added time.

St. Venera Lightnings and Mdina Knights shared the spoils in a 2-2 draw in another match at the Luxol Stadium. Matthew Mifsud on the 6th minute and a Danijel Vasic penalty on the 20th gave the Lightnings a two-goal lead but Dylan Mintoff pulled one back on the 66th and Matthew Fenech equalised eleven minutes later.

At the Charles Abela Stadium, Mtarfa defeated Kirkop United 2-1. Goals by David Zammit on the 28th and Warren Zerafa on the 45th gave Mtarfa a two-goal lead with Khalil Guilherme da Rosa reducing the gap on the 58th.

In another match, Ta’ Xbiex held Xghajra Tornados in a 2-2 draw at the Charles Abela Stadium. Paul Francis Sumaila put Ta’ Xbiex ahead on the 37th but a brace by Royter Degiorgio – a penalty on the 45th and a goal on the 79th turned the score in Xghajra’s favour although Christian Wismayer converted a penalty in stoppage time for Ta’ Xbiex to equalise.

Kalkara lead the way with 59 points, followed by Santa Lucia on 52, Luqa 50, Msida 42, Sta. Venera 38, Xghajra 35, Kirkop and Mdina 34, Zurrieq 28, Mtarfa and Dingli 19, Ta’ Xbiex 15 and Marsaskala 3.