Hibernians secure twelfth BOV Premier League title

Hibernians secured the twelfth title in the history of the club as they defeated St. Andrews 3-1 at the National Stadium on Sunday. A win which put the Paolites four points ahead of Balzan before the final matches are played next week.

The Paolites were determined to take the three points right from the start and although St. Andrews were quick to equalise after Hibs had opened the score, they never looked in danger of losing any points from the game.

Hibernians managed to take the lead on the 14th minute thanks to Bjorn Kristensen whose low shot from outside the area beat goalkeeper Jake Galea.

Five minutes later, St. Andrews restored equilibrium thanks to a great goal by Nenad Belacevic whose powerful drive from outside the area gave Andrew Hogg no chance.

Hibs threatened once again on the 23rd minute with a Marcelo Dias effort from the right when served by Gilmar.

The Paolites however regained the lead on the 28th minutes thanks to Jackson Lima whose powerful shot from outside the area was not held by Galea with the ball ending at the back of the net.

Eight minutes in the second half, Jorge Pereira da Silva went close to increasing the lead when he anticipated the goalkeeper with a header but the ball ended just wide. Two minutes later, a header by Gilmar, off a freekick from the right by Failla, was neutralised by Jake Galea.

Hibernians sealed the issue with a third goal on the 69th minute by Jorge Pereira da SIlva who concluded a good run on the left flank with a diagonal shot which gave the St. Andrews goalkeeper no chance.

HIBS Andrew Hogg, Rodolfo Soares, Rui da Gracia Gomes, Marcelo Dias (81′ Montell Moore), Jackson de Lima Siqueira, Clayton Failla, Bjorn Kristensen, Jorge Pereira da Silva (87′ Dunstan Vella), Johann Bezzina, Gilmar Ribeiro da Silva (68′ Jurgen Degabriele), Andrei Agius.
Subs not used: Rudy Briffa, Christian Sammut, Connor Zammit, Andre Azzopardi.
Coach: Mark Miller

ST. ANDREWS Jake Galea, Enmy Pena Beltre, Karlo Kesinovic, Michael Johnson, Dale Camilleri, Felix Okon Udoh (63′ Ryan Darmanin), Joseph Farrugia, Ivan Edgardo Paz (86′ Jacob Walker), Nenad Belacevic, Aidan Friggieri, Kyrian Nwoko.
Subs not used: Duncan Formosa, Liam Grech, Mark Scicluna, Alex Satariano, Daniel Brandle.
Coach: Danilo Doncic

Referee: Philip Farrugia
Assistant Referees: Peter Abela, Martin Borg
Additional Assistant Referees: Fyodor Zammit, Eman Grech
Fourth Official: Edward Spiteri
Yellow Cards: Belacevic, Jorginho
BOV Player of the Match: Jorginho