Birkirkara claim Under-17 Knock-Out

Birkirkara won the Youth FA Under-17 Knock-out after defeating Balzan 4-0 in the final played at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Birkirkara scored three goals in quick succession in the first half through Sebastian Grech (20′), Ayrton Attard (penalty – 22′) and Briam Mifsud (36′) while Michele Vella (50′) added the fourth goal in the second half.

At the end of the match, Youth FA Vice-President Robert Attard presented the trophy to Birkirkara captain Ayrton Attard to kick-start the celebrations.

Photos: Copyright ©

St. Andrews won Section A ahead of Valetta. Mosta finished third followed by Birkirkara, Pietà Hotspurs, San Gwann, Hamrun Spartans and Balzan.

In Section B, Floriana emerged as winners ahead of Paola Hibs. Zebbug Rangers ended their commitments in third place, followed by Qormi, Melita, Pembroke Athleta, Sliema Wanderers and Kirkop United. Pembroke defeated Sliema 2-0 in a decider.

Tarxien Rainbows won Section C ahead of Zabbar St. Patrick; Rabat Ajax finished third, followed by Swieqi United, Zejtun Corinthians, Fgura United, Lija/Iklin and Mqabba.

Luqa St. Andrew’s won Section D while Birzebbuga Windmill finished as runner-up. Attard placed third, followed by Msida St. Joseph, Mellieha, Ghaxaq, Mgarr United and Naxxar Lions.

In Section E, Sirens emerged as winners ahead of Gzira United. Marsa placed third, followed by Xghajra Tornados, Mtarfa, Kalkara and St. Venera United.

The YFA season ends this Sunday with the Under-15 Final between St. Andrews and Valletta at Luxol Stadium.

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”pic_id” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”52″]