UEFA Women’s Champions League: Tough draw for Birkirkara

Champions Birkirkara were drawn with top seeds FC Zürich of Switzerland in Group 6 of the UEFA Women’s Champions League qualifying round. The other teams in the group are Minsk of Belarus and hosts Olimpija Ljubljana of Slovenia. The mini-tournament will in fact be played in Slovenia between the 22nd and 28th August.

Zürich reached the round of 16 last season while Minsk were eliminated from the round of 32 by Barcelona.

This is Birkirkara’s fifth participation in the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

The ten group winners and the runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section proceed to join the 21 teams given byes to the 1 September draw for the round of 32, with the two-legged knockout phase commencing in October.

Qualifying round draw (matches 22–28 August)
Group 1
Gintra Universitetas (LTU)
Konak Belediyespor (TUR)
Partizán Bardejov (SVK)
Martve (GEO)*

Group 2
Olimpia Cluj (ROU)*
Hibernian (SCO)
WFC-2 Kharkiv (UKR)
Swansea City (WAL)

Group 3
Standard Liège (BEL)
Ajax (NED)
Pärnu (EST)*
Rīgas Futbola skola (LVA)

Group 4
Medyk Konin (POL)
PK-35 Vantaa (FIN)
Shelbourne (IRL)
Linfield (NIR)*

Group 5
Apollon (CYP)*
Sturm Graz (AUT)
NSA Sofia (BUL)
Noroc Nimoreni (MDA)

Group 6
Zürich (SUI)
Minsk (BLR)
Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN)*
Birkirkara (MLT)

Group 7
Stjarnan (ISL)
Osijek (CRO)*
KÍ Klaksvík (FRO)
SC Istatov (MKD)

Group 8
BIIK-Kazygurt (KAZ)
MTK Hungária (HUN)*
Sporting CP (POR)
Hajvalia (KOS)

Group 9
ŽFK Spartak (SRB)
Avaldsnes (NOR)
Kiryat Gat (ISR)
Breznica (MNE)*

Group 10
SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)*
KS Vllaznia (ALB)
Bettembourg (LUX)