Boost Diesel unveiled as new FA Trophy sponsor — Draws for first two rounds held

Boost Diesel was unveiled as the new sponsor of the FA Trophy. This was revealed during the draws of the first, second and third round of the FA Trophy at the Trophies Lounge, MFA Headquarters, Ta’ Qali.

Boost Premium Quality Diesel is one of Malta’s leading automotive fuels and is available in twenty-eight service stations. They offer two products: Boost Premium 55 and Boost Premium Plus 60.

MFA General Secretary Dr Angelo Chetcuti said that in search of a sponsor for the FA Trophy, the association wanted to find a partner where both partners shared the commonality of intent. He said he was confident this partnership will be beneficial for both sides.

Speaking on behalf of Boost Diesel, Justin Zammit Fiorentino said the company shared the same vision of the Malta Football Association and said that the sponsorship will not only give value to the game but also to society in general since football provides the values of discipline, teamwork and respect

The clubs will benefit directly from this sponsorship as the sum will go to them as prize money.

Meanwhile sixty-four teams will be taking part in this edition of the FA Trophy as three Gozitan clubs (Gharb Rangers, Sannat Lions and Zebbug Rovers) are not taking part.

Although the Preliminary Round and First Round is still reserved for Third Division and Gozitan clubs with First and Second Division clubs entering the second round, there was a slight change in format in order to have only eighteen teams qualifying from the second round. These will join the fourteen Premier League clubs which would enter the third round.

Preliminary Round
1 Nadur Youngsters vs Xaghra United
2 Mellieha vs Munxar Falcons
3 Oratory Youths vs Ghaxaq
4 Xewkija Tigers vs Marsaskala
5 Xghajra Tornados vs St. Laurence Spurs

First Round
6 Mdina Knights vs Winner Match 2 (MLH-MUN)
7 Winner Match 5 (XGH-STLS) vs Msida St. Joseph
8 Winner Match 3 (ORA-GHX) vs Kercem Ajax
9 Victoria Hotspurs vs Winner Match 1 (NAD-XAG)
10 Mtarfa vs Dingli Swallows
11 Ta’ Xbiex vs Sta. Venera Lightnings
12 Ghajnsielem vs Kirkop United
13 Zurrieq vs Qala Saints
14 SK Victoria Wanderers vs Winner Match 4 (XEW-MSK)

Second Round
Pembroke Athleta vs Pietà Hotspurs
Gharghur vs Vittoriosa Stars
Marsaxlokk vs Zabbar St. Patrick
Winner Match 13 (ZUR-QAL) vs Qrendi
Gudja United vs Rabat Ajax
Sirens vs Zebbug Rangers
Winner Match 14 (SKV-XEW-MSK) vs Winner Match 7 (XGH-STLS-MSI)
Fgura United vs Qormi
Mgarr United vs Mqabba
Marsa vs Santa Lucia
Winner Match 11 (TXB-STV) vs Kalkara
Zejtun Corinthians vs Winner Match 10 (MTA-DIN)
Winner Match 6 (MDI-MLH-MUN) vs Swieqi United
San Gwann vs St. George’s
Winner Match 9 (VICH-NAD-XAGH) vs Birzebbuga St. Peter’s
Attard vs Winner Match 8 (ORA-GHX-KER)
Siggiewi vs Luqa St. Andrew’s
Melita vs Winner Match 12 (GHJ-KIR)

Preliminary Round 2-3 September
First Round 8-10 September
Second Round 20-22 October
Third Round 1-3 December
Fourth Round 20-21 January
Quarter-Finals 17-18 February
Semi-Finals 28-29 April
Final 5 May