Mellieha win seven-goal thriller

Mellieha, Xghajra Tornados, Oratory Youths and Xewkija Tigers qualified for the

Mellieha defeated Munxar Falcons 4-3 in a seven-goal thriller at the Centenary Stadium. Bryan Bautista put Mellieha ahead on the 12th minute but Munxar levelled matters two minutes later through Mattias Michael Uzor and two minutes later, Jordi Parnis turned the score in the favour of Munxar. Six minutes from half-time, Munxar went 3-1 ahead through another Parnis strike but Bryan Bautista reduced the gap on the 43rd minute. Jeffrey Gauci equalised on the 77th minute and an own goal three minutes from time handed Mellieha a place in the first round proper.

Mellieha take on Mdina Knights in the first round.

Emre Yener was the hero for Xghajra Tornados as they defeated Gozitan side St. Laurence Spurs 4-1 at the Centenary Stadium. Yener opened the score on the 31st minute and although Denis di Maio equalised three minutes later, he scored another two goals on the 65th and 66th to give Xghajra a comfortable lead before Royter Degiorgio sealed the issue with a fourth goal.

Xghajra will be facing Msida St. Joseph in the next round.

Oratory Youths found no difficulty in beating Ghaxaq 4-0 at the Gozo Stadium. Bartomeu Perello Palou converted a penalty on the 17th minute and doubled the score on the half-hour. Ralph Ebube Okpokwu made it 3-0 three minutes in the second half and the same player added another on the 73rd.

In the first round, Oratory Youths meet Kercem Ajax.

Gozitan champions Xewkija Tigers defeated Marsaskala 4-1 in another match at the Gozo Stadium. Thiago Melo dos Santos put the Tigers ahead on the 9th minute and Rodney Buttigieg doubled the score on the 25th. Joseph George Vella converted a penalty on the 72nd and four minutes later, Thiago Melo dos Santos added another with Matthew Gauci reducing the gap for Marsaskala nine minutes from time.

Xewkija Tigers take on SK Victoria Wanderers in the first round next week.