BOV Division 2: Fgura, Birzebbuga move top

Fgura United and Birzebbuga St. Peter’s are the new leaders in the BOV Second Division after both registered 3-2 wins on Saturday.

At the Centenary Stadium, Birzebbuga St. Peter’s came from behind to beat Kalkara 3-2. Although Didier Sohna put the Saints ahead on the 37th minute, Christopher Cuschieri levelled matters just before half-time and Justin Felice put Kalkara ahead on the 65th. However Ronnie Celeste restored equilibrium on the 80th before adding another two minutes later to secure the three points for Birzebbuga.

At the Luxol Stadium, Fgura United defeated Santa Lucia by the odd goal in five. Fgura took the lead on the 18th minute thanks to Cleavon Frendo and goals by Abeeb Abiodun Williams on the 78th and Gilbert Martin two minutes later put them three goals ahead. Gaynor D’Amato and Steve Meilak reduced the gap for Santa Lucia with goals on the 85th and 88th.

Lazar Doric was the hero for Mgarr United as he notched a hat-trick in a 3-2 win over Marsaxlokk at the Centenary Stadium. He converted a penalty on the 23rd minute before adding another two goals on the 27th and 51st. Alan Tabone scored a penalty to reduce the gap for Marsaxlokk on the 71st minute with Andre Cassar adding another for the Southseasiders eight minutes later.

Goals by Nicholas Schembri on the 44th and Shaun Bugeja on the 71st enabled Swieqi United to return to winning ways as they defeated Siggiewi 2-0 at the Luxol Stadium.

Attard registered their first win as they beat St. George’s 2-1 in a clash between the bottom teams at the Sirens Stadium. Matthew Bajada put Attard ahead on the 9th minute and Firas Aboulezz doubled the score on the 57th. Glenn Brincat pulled one back on the 75th minute.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, Gudja United registered a comfortable 4-0 win over Luqa St. Andrew’s. Nicholas Zammit put them ahead on the 26th minute and four minutes in the second half, Jean Claude Cesare doubled the score. Christian Cassar converted a penalty on the 66th minute and Joseph Chetcuti sealed the issue with another goal ten minutes from time.

Fgura and Birzebbuga lead the way with 11 points, followed by Swieqi on 10, Santa Lucia 9, Siggiewi 8, Kalkara and Mgarr 7, Gudja 5, Attard 4, Luqa 3, Marsaxlokk and Gharghur 2 and St. George’s 1.

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”random” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”79″]