BOV Women’s League: Leaders maintain perfect start

Title challengers Birkirkara and Hibernians maintained their perfect start after registering wins in this week’s programme from the BOV Women’s League.

The Stripes recorded a sounding win over Tarxien Rainbows at the Mgarr Ground, netting 15 goals with Malta international Raina Giusti collecting four goals (10′, 40′, 48′ and 76′), cementing her top scorer leadership with 14 goals. The Stripes scored eight in the first half, adding another seven after the break.

The other Malta WNT members Alishia Sultana (54′), Yasmeen Vella (84′) and Gabriella Zahra (87′) grabbed a goal each alongside Tracy Teuma (15′). The remaining goals were scored by youths Mariah Sciberras (75′ and 89′), Sarah Urpani (17′ and 29′) and Samantha Zarb (34′ and 42′) each, while Tarxien’s Mandy Caruana was unfortunate to net one into her own net.

Meanwhile, Hibernians replied with a 2-0 victory over a resilient Mgarr United side at the Charles Abela Stadium. Captain Dorianne Theuma broke the deadlock on the 63rd minute while Emma Xuereb completed the formalities six minutes from time.

Birkirkara and Hibernians cross swords in the big match on Thursday at the Charles Abela Stadium, kick-off at 20:15.

Rebecca Naudi’s solitary goal past the half-hour mark enabled Swieqi United to chalk up their first win of the season over Mosta at the Zebbug Ground. The latter are currently sitting bottom of the championship without points.

In the other fixture of this week, Raiders (Luxol) moved third thanks to a 4-2 win against Fgura United at the Fgura Ground. Goals from Rodianne Zerafa (18′), Kylie Monaco (25′) and Anna Aloisio (29′) gave Raiders a three-goal lead at half-time. However, Fgura fought back and scored two goals in space of seven minutes through Ilenia Navarro on the 53rd and on the hour. Nonetheless, Johann Scicluna’s side wrapped up the win with a goal from Rodianne Zerafa twenty minutes from time.

Standings: Birkirkara, Hibernians 18; Raiders (Luxol) 13; Kirkop United 11; Mgarr United 10; Swieqi United, Fgura United 4; Tarxien Rainbows 2; Mosta 0.