Floriana claim BOV Super Cup

Floriana lifted the first major honour of the season after defeating Hibernians 1-0 in the BOV Super Cup at the National Stadium on Wednesday. This was the second time Floriana won the Super Cup after a first success in 1993.

Hibs will definitely feel disappointed to lose after holding the initiative for long stretches, especially after conceding the goal. However the Greens, winners of the FA Trophy last season, controlled their opponents well to keep them at bay.

Floriana coach Nicolas Chiesa therefore experienced his first success as a coach after taking over just ten days ago.

The Paolites risked going one goal down on the 18th minute when a header by Marcelo Dias surprised Hogg but the Malta goalkeeper saved with particular difficulty.

However Floriana were not to be denied on the 37th minute when off a cross by Juninho Cabral from the right, Mario Fontanella headed home from close range.

Mid-way through the second half, Hibs went close with a Kreuzriegler header which was turned into a corner by Akpan and then with a close-range effort by Degabriele ending just over the bar.

However five minutes from time, Floriana almost doubled the score when in a swift counter-attack, Vella served Cabral whose diagonal shot from the left was deflected into corner by Hogg. Hardly a minute later, substitute Jorge Elias dos Santos missed an incredible chance heading wide from close range following a cross by Mbong.

After the match, BOV Chief Risk Officer Miguel Borg and MFA Senior Vice President Ludovico Micallef presented the Super Cup to the winners.

Photo courtesy of BOV

HIBS Andrew Hogg, Dunstan Vella, Martin Kreuzriegler, Rui da Garcia Gomes, Marcelo Dias, Jurgen Degabriele, Bjorn Kristensen (73’ Marco Sahanek), Clayton Failla (82’ Jorge Elias dos Santos), Johann Bezzina (61’ Jackson Lima), Andrei Agius, Joseph Mbong.
Subs not used: Rudy Briffa, Conner Zammit, Marco Antonio Filho Morton, David Xuereb.
Coach: Mark Miller

FLORIANA Ini Etim Akpan, Enrico Pepe, Enzo Ruiz, Steve Pisani, Clyde Borg (66’ Arthur Henrique Oyama), Maurizio Vella (87’ Leighton Grech), Juninho Cabral, Alex Cini, Dylan Grima, Mario Fontanella, Emerson Marcelina.
Subs not used: Matthew Grech, James Baldacchino, Bradley Sciberras, Jurgen Pisani, Neil Spiteri.
Coach: Nicolas Chiesa

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, Thomas Debono
Additional Assistant Referees: Matthew De Gabriele, Stefan Pace
Fourth Official: Paul Apap
Yellow Cards: Ruiz, Pepe, Dias, Marcelina
Attendance: 1,241

One comment

  1. Presently Hibs are lacking desperately

    an effective striker to support Jurgen since Elias seems to have lost all confidence. I suggest to Miller to advance some experienced player like for example Lima to fill this position hoping that in January a Tarabai or a Jorghino would crop up.

Comments are closed.