Birkirkara through to FA Trophy quarter-finals after extra-time

Birkirkara needed extra-time to beat First Division side San Gwann 2-1 at the Centenary Stadium on Friday to reach the quarter-finals of the FA Trophy, powered by Boost Diesel.

San Gwann managed to take the lead on the 12th minute when Alan Borg sent Godwin Blessing Henshaw through and the latter beat goalkeeper Kristijan Naumovski with a powerful shot which gave the Birkirkara goalkeeper no chance.

Birkirkara leveled matters on the 72nd minute when Jake Grech’s freekick from the left was partially saved by Manuel Bartolo and off the rebound, Fernando Barbosa Pereira placed the ball at the back of the net from close range.

With the result still draw at the end of the ninety minutes, the game went into extra-time.

Birkirkara went ahead on the 104th minute thanks to Carlos Alberto da Silva whose fine shot beat the San Gwann goalkeeper.

B’KARA Kristijan Naumovski, Edward Herrera, Fernando Barbosa Pereira, Mislav Andjelkovic, Jake Grech, Kurt Zammit, Nikola Vukanac, Carlos Alberto Da Silva Goncalves Junior, Srdjan Dimitrov (118′ Ayrton Attard), Ryan Scicluna, Cain Attard (67’ Gianluca Zammit).

SAN GWANN Manuel Bartolo, Josuel Azzopardi (92’ Nezar Abouhaisa), Andre Cachia (84’ Luca Mallia), Sergio Hili (61’ Mario Artieta Suarez), Alan Borg, Ryan Zammit, Thiago Lopes de Souza, Godwin Blessing Henshaw, Samuel Timmy Ogundare, Christian Gauci, Kyle Gatt.

Referee: Jude Amin Utulu
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, Ryan Aquilina
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia
Yellow Cards: Lopes, Henshaw, Dimitrov, Bartolo
Attendance: 346