BOV Division 3: Sta. Venera crowned champions, Xghajra take play-off spot

Sta. Venera Lightnings were crowned champions in the BOV Third Division thanks to a 3-0 win over Zurrieq at the Luxol Stadium on Sunday.

William Camilleri scored twice on the 16th and 34th with Gerald Ancilleri adding another on the 73rd.

Xghajra Tornados will be taking part in the Play-Off against Second Division side St. George’s after beating Marsaskala 2-0 to leapfrog Kirkop United into the third place. The Tornados scored the goals within the first ten minutes thanks to Royter Degiorgio on the 5th and Glenn Tanti on the 10th.

Mellieha, on the other hand, defeated Kirkop United 5-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium to end their commitments in second place. Jacob Farrugia opened the score for Mellieha on the 6th minute but Ayrton Buhagiar levelled matters ten minutes later. Gilbert Camilleri restored the lead on the 26th and Jack Vella added another on the 35th with Ryan Sciberras scoring o the hour and Bryan Bautista adding another eight minutes from time.

At the Sirens Stadium, Dingli Swallows and Mtarfa shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw thanks to goals by Luke Galea on the 8th minute for Dingli and Ryan Zammit for Mtarfa on the 92nd minute.

Ghaxaq beat Mdina Knights 2-0 at the Luxol Stadium courtesy of Mark Ellul on the 42nd and Martin Busuttil two minutes from time.

On the other hand, at the Charles Abela Stadium, Msida St. Joseph defeated Ta’ Xbiex 4-1, goals by Darren Bartoli on the 1st and 24th, Cristian Toro Perdomo on the 30th and 48th and Nicholas Scicluna for Ta’ Xbiex on the 20th.

The final standings see Sta. Venera on top on 53 points, followed by Mellieha on 50, Xghajra 44, Kirkop 42, Msida 38, Mdina and Ghaxaq 31, Dingli 28, Zurrieq 27, Mtarfa 15, Ta’ Xbiex and Marsaskala 8.

Photos courtesy of Bank of Valletta

One comment

Comments are closed.