Double for Valletta as they beat Stripes in FA Trophy final

Champions Valletta claimed the double as they defeated Birkirkara 2-1 in the final of the FA Trophy, powered by Boost Diesel.

This was the fourteenth FA Trophy win for Valletta who reached the final a total of twenty seven times and also the second double in five years.

The Citizens were clearly a better side right from the start but only managed to take the lead on the 41st minute thanks to Kyrian Nwoko who headed the ball home off a Miguel Angel Alba corner from the right.

In added time, Joseph Zerafa was unlucky not to double the score but his conclusion from the left hit the foot of the upright.

Photo (1): Copyright ©

Photo (2): Copyright © Andrew Grima

Twelve minutes from time, Valletta doubled the score when Santiago Malano advanced on the left, entered the area and rounded Nikola Vukanac before slotting past the helpless Naumovski.

Birkirkara pulled one back three minutes from time thanks to an Ognjen Rolovic freekick which was deflected by a defender past goalkeeper Henry Bonello.

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”random” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”138″]

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”name” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”137″]

B’KARA Kristijan Naumovski, Edward Herrera, Fernando Barbosa Pereira, Mislav Andjelkovic, Jake Grech (60′ Terence Agius), Kurt Zammit, Nikola Vukanac, Carlos Alberto da Silva Goncalves Junior (61′ Ognjen Rolovic), Waldemar Acosta, Ryan Scicluna, Cain Attard (90′ Ayrton Attard).
Subs not used: David Cassar, Zack Cassar, Gianluca Zammit, Neil Micallef.
Coach: Paul Zammit

VALLETTA Henry Bonello, Ryan Camilleri, Juan Cruz Gill, Santiago Malano, Matteo Piciollo, Kyrian Nwoko (81′ Jean Borg), Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Joseph Zerafa, Raed Ibrahim Saleh, Rowen Muscat (85′ Nicholas Pulis), Miguel Angel Alba (68′ Denni Rocha dos Santos).
Subs not used: Nicky Vella, Ryan Tonna, Shaun Dimech, Russell Fenech.
Coach: Danilo Doncic

Referee: Alan Mario Sant
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Thomas Debono
Additional Assistant Referees: Malcolm Spiteri, Matthew De Gabriele
Fourth Official: William Debattista
Yellow Cards: Attard, Alba, Pena Beltre, Malano, Zerafa
Attendance: 7,011

Valletta FC Champions 2018 – Copyright © 2018 Andrew Grima & Neil Grima.