Valletta to face Sliema Wanderers in opening match

Valletta will be facing Sliema Wanderers  while Birkirkara take on Balzan on match-day 1 of the BOV Premier League 2018/19. The draws were held at the Trophies Lounge at the National Stadium on Wednesday.

Mosta meet St. Andrews, Qormi face Senglea Athletic, Tarxien Rainbows take on Gzira United, Hamrun Spartans meet Floriana while Hibernians take on Pieta Hotspurs in the other matches for match-day 1.

Although the same venues as last season will be used, namely the National Stadium, the Centenary Stadium, the Victor Tedesco Stadium and the Hibernians Stadium, matches will be played from Saturdays to Mondays and the odd fixture which was usually played on Fridays will now be paired with a match from the BOV First Division at the same venue. One some occasions, three matches will be played on the same day at the same venue.

Match-day 1 kicks off on August 17 while the final fixtures are scheduled for April 27.

A – Mosta vs B – St. Andrews
C – Qormi vs D – Senglea Athletic
E – Tarxien Rainbows vs F – Gzira United
G – Birkirkara vs H – Balzan
I – Hamrun Spartans vs J – Floriana
K – Hibernians vs L – Pieta Hotspurs
M – Sliema Wanderers vs N – Valletta

Photo: Copyright © Andrew Grima

MFA General Secretary Dr Angelo Chetcuti announced that Bank of Valletta agreed to extend their partnership with the Malta Football Association and the agreement would be signed shortly.

Dr Chetcuti said the association is working hard to improve the product and this includes re-branding due to the potential the game has.

Bank of Valletta Chief Operating Officer Ernest Agius said the bank was honoured to be the MFA National Leagues’ partner for the fourteenth year. He said the bank was proud with the partnership with the biggest sports association in Malta. He said that hopefully the coming season’s campaign would turn out to be an exciting one as it was the case last season.

Club 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
A Mosta B D E H I L M N K J G F C
B St. Andrews A E I M K G C D H L N J F
C Qormi D H L N J F B E I M K G A
D  Senglea A. C A H L N J F B E I M K G
E Tarxien R. F B A I M K G C D H L N J
F Gzira U. E I M K G C D H L N J A B
G Birkirkara H L N J F B E I M K A C D
H Balzan G C D A L N J F B E I M K
I Hamrun S. J F B E A M K G C D H L N
J Floriana I M K G C D H L N A F B E
K Hibernians L N J F B E I M A G C D H
L Pieta H. K G C D H A N J F B E I M
M Sliema W. N J F B E I A K G C D H L
N  Valletta M K G C D H L A J F B E I