Youth FA Under-15 and Under-17 League and Knock-Out 2018/19 draws

The draws for the Youth Football Association Under-17 and Under-15 Leagues and Knock-Out competitions were held earlier this week at the Palace Hotel, Sliema.

General Secretary Joe Micallef welcomed all the represented nurseries and expressed the satisfaction that once more all those players and staff participating in the YFA competitions will be covered by an insurance, after this was introduces last season. He then gave a brief overview of the changes in the competition rules.

The YFA season will start on September 1st and fixtures for the first period will be released in the coming days.

Vice-President Robert Attard gave an update regarding the FRS registrations, which will only be accepted for players featuring in the Under-15 and Under-17 leagues only as from this season, while the rest can register regularly on the green passport.  The YFA Vice-President, delved also in the matter of the COMET system, which might be introduced from this season, which will only influence the FSR registrations by making them online based instead of the usual paper-based registrations.

Photo: Copyright

YFA Officer in charge of Fixtures, Alex Pace, explained in detail the competitions’ formats, participating teams and seedings, before proceeding to the draws, which resulted as follows:

Under-15 League

Group A: Balzan, Attard, Naxxar Lions

Group B: Paola Hibs, Zabbar St. Patrick, Pembroke Athleta

Group C:  Mosta, Zebbug Rangers, Swieqi United

Group D: Birkirkara, Valletta, Lija/Iklin

Group E: Gozo, Kirkop United, Qormi

Group F: San Gwann, Hamrun Spartans, Tarxien Rainbows

Group G: Pieta Hotspurs, Melita, Floriana

Group H: St. Andrews, Sirens, Sliema Wanderers


Group DE1: Marsaskala, Mellieha, Zejtun Corinthians, Rabat Ajax, Mqabba, Mgarr United, Mtarfa, Msida St. Joseph, Birzebbuga Windmill

Group DE2: Fgura, Xghajra Tornados, Marsaxlokk, Luqa St. Andrew’s, Siggiewi, Zurrieq, Sta. Venera United, Ghaxaq, Gzira United


Under-17 League

Group A: Valletta, Sliema Wanderers, Luqa St. Andrew’s

Group B: Birkirkara, Paola Hibs, Mellieha

Group C: Melita, Qormi, Kirkop United

Group D: St. Andrews, Pembroke Athleta, Swieqi United

Group E: Pietà Hotspurs, Balzan, Rabat Ajax

Group F: San Gwann, Tarxien Rainbows, Zejtun Corinthians

Group G: Floriana, Mosta, Zabbar St. Patrick

Group H: Hamrun Spartans, Zebbug Rangers, Msida St. Joseph


Group DE1: Lija/Iklin, Xghajra Tornados, Fgura United, Mqabba, Mtarfa, Marsa, Marsaxlokk, Marsaskala

Group DE2: Attard, Naxxar Lions, Sirens, Sta. Venera United, Mgarr United, Ghaxaq, Gzira United


Knock-Out Competition

Under-15 Knock Out – 1st Round

Pieta vs St. Andrews

Attard vs San Gwann

Pembroke vs Birkirkara

Gozo vs Swieqi

Naxxar vs Zebbug

Marsaskala vs Valletta

Hamrun vs Floriana

Mosta vs Fgura

Zejtun vs Mellieha

Sirens vs Rabat

Lija/Iklin vs Sliema

Balzan vs Luqa

Marsaxlokk vs Xghajra

Qormi vs Melita

Zabbar vs Kirkop

Paola Hibs vs Tarxien


Under 17 Knock Out – 1st Round

Attard vs Hamrun

Tarxien vs Zebbug

Sliema vs Mosta

Luqa vs Zabbar

Rabat vs Valletta

Pembroke vs Mellieha

Swieqi vs Floriana

Msida vs Sta. Venera

St. Andrews vs Pieta

Paola Hibs vs Mqabba

Naxxar vs Birkirkara

Qormi vs San Gwann

Sirens vs Melita

Balzan vs Zejtun

Lija/Iklin vs Fgura

Xghajra vs Kirkop