Ghaxaq, Dingli and Sannat reach FA Trophy first round


Third Division sides Ghaxaq and Dingli Swallows and Gozitans Sannat Lions reached the first round of the FA Trophy as they registered wins in the three Preliminary Round matches in programme on Saturday.

Ghaxaq scored twice in the second half to beat Gozitan side St. Laurence Spurs 2-0 at the Kercem Ajax Stadium.

Ian Calleja gave Ghaxaq the lead on the 47th and Dean Agius doubled the score on the 62nd.

Ghaxaq take on SK Victoria Wanderers or Mtarfa in the next round next week.

At the Centenary Stadium, Dingli Swallows found no difficulty in beating Marsaskala 4-0 in a clash between two Third Division sides.

Mark Vassallo put Dingli ahead on the 36th minute and one minute from the end of the first half, Matthew Borg doubled the score. The Swallows increased the lead further with two goals in the dying minutes thanks to Robert Ciantar on the 88th and Christian Schembri on the 90th.

In another match at the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Ralph Ebube Okpokwu was the hero for Sannat Lions as they defeated Third Division side Ta’ Xbiex 2-0. Okpokwu opened the score on the 19th and sealed the issue with another goal on the 78th.

Dingli Swallows and Sannat Lions cross swords in the first round on Sunday 9.