FA Trophy: Ghaxaq eliminate SK Victoria Wanderers after penalty shoot-out

The last five teams to make it to the second round of the FA Trophy were Sannat Lions, Victoria Hotspurs, Gharghur, Mdina Knights and Ghaxaq as they all registered wins in the remaining matches from the first round on Sunday.

In the first match at the Sirens Stadium, Sannat Lions came from behind to beat Third Division side Dingli Swallows 2-1. Andrew Scerri put the Swallows ahead on teh 16th minute but Charlon Tabone equalised six minutes from the end of the first half and Ralph Ebube Okpokwu converted a penalty on the 67th to give Sannat a narrow win.

Sannat take on First Division side Qrendi in the second round.

In the second match, Gharghur registered a 3-1 win over Gozitan side Xaghra United. Clint Zammit gave Gharghur the lead on the 31st minute and Johnny Camilleri converted a penalty three minutes from the end of the first half to level matters. Clint Zammit made it 2-1 for Gharghur on the 75th and Nikola Tasic sealed the issue with another goal deep into stoppage time.

In the second round, Gharghur will be facing First Division side Marsa.

At the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Mdina Knights defeated Gozitan side Zebbug Rovers 1-0 courtesy of a Cachel Vella goal on the 57th minute.

The Knights take on Gharb Rangers in the next round.

In the first match at the Gozo Stadium, Ghaxaq eliminated SK Victoria Wanderers 4-1 on penalties following a goalless draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time. In the penalty shoot-out, Ian Calleja, Nigel Vella, Rio Micallef and Dean Agius scored for Ghaxaq while Predrag Djordjevic scored for SKVW.  David Udo Monday’s penalty was saved  by the goalkeeper while Moussa Bamba’s effort hit the posts.

Ghaxaq meet Fgura United in the second round.

In another match, Victoria Hotspurs beat Attard 4-1. Andrew Mizzi put the Hotspurs ahead on the 4th minute and Nigel Spiteri equalised on the 35th. Andrew Mizzi restored the lead ten minutes in the second half and Chris Camilleri made it 3-1 on the 64th. Henrique Maciel added another on the 80th.

The Hotspurs will be meeting Second Division side Siggiewi in the next round.