Gzira United regain top spot

Gżira United moved back on top the BOV Premier League table thanks to a 3-2 win over Hibernians at the National Stadium on Sunday.

The Maroons therefore maintained their unbeaten record with a third win in four matches. On the other hand, Hibernians suffered a second consecutive defeat after winning their first two matches.

Gżira coach Darren Abdilla named an unchanged side from the team which defeated Sliema but Hibs had one change as Bjorn Kristensen replaced Dunstan Vella from the team which lost to Floriana last week.

The Maroons took the lead on the 10th minute. Edison Bilbao Zarate served Amadou Samb who advanced into the area before hitting low to hit the foot of the upright, the ball bounced onto Nemanja Radojevic to end at the back of the net.

Hibs equalised on the 27th minute when off a through pass by Isaac Ntow on the left flank, Rodolfo Soares lost the ball to Tiago Adan Fonseca who entered the penalty area and slotted past Justin Haber with a powerful drive.

However their joy was short-lived as Gżira regained the lead on the half hour when Amadou Samb received a through pass on the right and anticipated Hogg to place the ball inside the empty-net. A goal which brought harsh protests by the Hibs players and technical staff with coach Stefano Sanderra being sent off by referee Trustin Farrugia Cann.

One minute in the second half, Bjorn Kristensen sent Jurgen Degabriele through but the latter’s effort hit the crossbar. Three minutes later, Dias served Degabriele on the right but  Rodolfo Soares cleared the ball into safety. On the other hand, Amadou Samb went close with a diagonal shot from the left.

The Maroons increased the lead on the 66th thanks to Fernando Barbosa Pereira whose first-time effort was not held by Hogg following a Juan Corbolan free kick from the right.

Three minutes later, Hibs reduced the gap when off a through pass by Andrei Agius on the right, Taylon Correa entered the area and served Tiago Adan Fonseca who tapped the ball home from close range.

GŻIRA Justin Haber, Destin Prince-Loic Mambouana, Rodolfo Soares, Andrew Cohen, Juan Corbalan, Edison Bilbao Zarate (57′ Zachary Scerri), Roderick Briffa (78′ Thomas Veronese), Sacha Borg, Fernando Barbosa Pereira, Amadou Samb, Haruna Garba (57′ Nikolai Muscat).
Subs not used: Anthony Curmi, Luca Brincat, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Moad Lamlum.
Coach: Darren Abdilla

HIBS Andrew Hogg, Nemanja Radojevic, Joseph Mbong, Marcelo Dias, Jurgen Degabriele, Bjorn Kristensen, Isaac Ntow, Johann Bezzina (79′ Dunstan Vella), Andrei Agius, Ivan Blazevic (60′ Taylon Nicolas Correa Marcolino), Tiago Adan Fonseca.
Subs not used: Rudy Briffa, Timothy Tabone Desira, Daneel Abela, Connor Zammit, David Xuereb.
Coach: Stefano Sanderra
Asst. Coach: Ryan Pulis

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Christopher Francalanza
Fourth Official: Etienne Mangion
Yellow Cards: Agius, Kristensen, Mambouana, Samb, Borg
BOV Player of the Match: Amadou Samb