Two defeats for futsal national team to the Netherlands

The Malta national futsal team, led by coach Vic Hermans, suffered two defeats to the Netherlands in two friendly matches which were played at the National Sports School in Pembroke on Monday and Tuesday. 

In the first match, the Netherlands won 7-2. The Dutch started the game at a very fast pace, giving the hosts no time to settle. They secured their win in the first half after establishing a 6-1 lead with goals from Yoshua St Juste, Youssef Makradi, Zaid El Morariti, Karim Mossadi, and a brace by Jordany Martinus.  The second saw both teams score a goal apiece with Mo Atairi getting Holland’s goal.

Malta’s goals came from the experienced Jovica Milijic, of Valletta, and an own goal from a cross delivered by Luxol’s Gian Carlo Sammut.

MALTA Brandon Debono (gk), Mark Zammit, Dylan Musu, Carl Azzopardi, Andy Mangion.
Reserves: Stephen Vella (gk), Clint Mifsud (gk), Jovica Milijic, Giancarlo Sammut, Aidan Micallef, Matthew Attard, George Frendo, Rennie Tanti, Marwan Telisi, Ryan Xuereb.

NETHERLANDS Barry de Wit (gk), Zaid El Morariti, Oualid Saadouni, Jordany Martinus, Mo Atairi.
Reserves: Jack Steur (gk), Iliass, Bouzit, Said Bouzambou, Karim Mossadi, Lahcen Bouyouzan, Youssef Makradi, Mats Velseboer, Yoshua St.Juste, Ike Neil.

Referee 1: Daniele D’Adamo (San Marino)
Referee 2: Besar Beqiri (Kosovo)
Referee 3: Jonathan Mallia (Malta)

In the second match, the visitors registered an 8-0 win. 

Lahcen Bouyouzan , Said Bouzambou, Zaid El Morabiti and Ike Neil gave the Netherlands a four-goal lead by the end of the first half. In the second half, Bouzambou, Neil and two goals by El Morabiti gave the visitors a comfortable win.

For the Malta Futsal team, these friendlies are part of their preparations for the FIFA Futsal World Cup qualifiers next year.


MALTA Stephen Vella, Brendon Debono, Clint Mifsud, Jovica Milijic, Mark Zammit, Dylan Musu, Giancarlo Sammut, Carl Azzopardi, Aidan Micallef, Matthew Attard, George Frendo, Andy Mangion, Rennie Tanti, Marwan Telisi, Ryan Xuereb.

NETHERLANDS Barry De Wit, Jack Steur, Zaid El Morabiti, Oualid Saadduni, Jordany Martinus, Mo Attairi, Iliass Bouzit, Said Bouzambou, Karim Mossadiji, Lahcen Bouyouzan, Youssef Makraou, Mats Velsebder, Yoshia St Juste, Ike Neil.

Referee 1 – Beairi Besar (Kosovo)
Referee 2 – Daniele D’Adamo (San Marino)
Referee 3 – Clint Cassar (Malta)