BOV Division 1: Qrendi beat San Gwann in nine-goal thriller

San Gwann remain the only team without any points after four matches as they suffered a fourth consecutive defeat on Sunday as they finished on the losing end in a nine-goal thriller in one of the five BOV First Division matches in programme.

Qrendi defeated San Gwann 6-3 in a highly entertaining clash at the Centenary Stadium. Bydasser Sammut put Qrendi ahead on the 17th minute but Rafael Rodrigues Ledesma equalised on the half-hour. Qrendi however regained the lead with two goals in a minute thanks to Christian Caruana and Joao Pedro da Silva Vargas on the 38th minute. Just before half-time, Ciro Quaranta made it 4-1 and the same player extended the lead six minutes in the second half. San Gwann reduced the gap thanks to a Godwin Blessing Henshaw penalty on the 65th and a goal by Jan Tanti a minute later. However Marlon Reid made it 6-3 for Qrendi.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Santa Lucia registered a fine 4-1 win over Naxxar Lions to regain the top spot. Brandon Paiber converted a penalty on the 10th minute and the same player doubled the score on the 18th. Naxxar reduced the gap through Jurgen Debono but Santa Lucia scored again through Kevin Ante Rosero on the 75th and Patrick Jean Texeira Maia a minute later.

Ryan Micallef scored twice to hand Zebbug Rangers their first win as they beat Vittoriosa Stars 2-1 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Micallef scored on the 9th and although Noah Olawole Ojuola equalised on the 47th, Micallef made it 2-1 on the 66th.

Lija Athletic and Mqabba shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw at the Centenary Stadium, goals by Erjon Beu for Lija on the 9th and Lamin Suma for Mqabba on the 46th.

Pembroke Athleta defeated Marsa 3-1 in another match at the Centenary Stadium. Yanis Tonna put Pembroke ahead on the 41st and although Mark Gauci equalised on the 45th, Tonna made it 2-1 on the 56th and Igor Misan sealed the issue with a third goal on the 75th.

Santa Lucia lead the way with 10 points, followed by Sirens on 8, Gudja, Mqabba and Lija 6, Pembroke, Qrendi and Zebbug 5, Swieqi 4, Vittoriosa, Zejtun, Marsa and Naxxar 3 and San Gwann 0.