Silvio Vella announces squad for final UEFA U-21 qualifiers

Malta Under-21 coach Silvio Vella has announced his 20-man squad for next week’s double header against Hungary, on October 12, and Cyprus, on October 16 at the Centenary Stadium.

These two matches, both kicking off at 17.00, will bring an end to the Malta Under-21 team’s 2019 UEFA Championship qualifying campaign.

There are no major changes in the squad from last month’s home game against Belgium (0-4) which was followed with a 5-2 friendly upset to Georgia.

While the Malta Under-21s’ objective is to try and collect points from their final two qualifiers, Vella and his staff are also planning for the next edition as attested by the selection of several players who will still be eligible to play at Under-21 level for the next competition.

These include goalkeeper Andreas Vella, Jean Borg, Kurt Shaw, Michele Sansone, Nicholas Pulis, Myles Beerman, Matthew Guillaumier, Zach Brincat and Jan Busuttil.

Malta Under-21 captain Jake Grech has earned a call-up to the senior squad for next week’s UEFA Nations League Group D3 matches against Kosovo and Azerbaijan, joining Joseph Mbong and Juan Corbalan who can still play for the Under-21s.

Vella also hopes to see more young players get more playing time in domestic competitions as this would enhance their match fitness.

Vella is hopeful that his team will finally open their account in Group 6 but warned that Hungary and Cyprus will be no easy opponents.


Jake Galea (Sliema Wanderes); Andreas Vella (Mosta).

Jean Borg (Valletta); Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderes); Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans); Kurt Zammit (Birkirkara); Michele Sansone (Sliema Wanderes); Nicholas Pulis (Valletta).

Myles Beerman (Birkirkara); Matthew Guillaumier (Birkirkara); Nikolai Muscat (Gżira United); Yannick Yankam (Qormi); Zachary Scerri (Gżira United); Dylan Agius (Pietà Hotspurs); Dunstan Vella (Hibernians).

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians); Zachary Brincat (Mosta); Jan Busuttil (Pietà Hotspurs); Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta); Christian Mercieca (Victoria Hotspurs).