Sliema Wanderers move fourth

Sliema Wanderers moved fourth in the BOV Premier League as they came from behind to beat Hamrun Spartans 2-1 at the National Stadium on Saturday.

The Wanderers therefore extend their positive run to five matches to leapfrog the Spartans who were suffering a second consecutive defeat. The latter share fifth place with Birkirkara, one point behind Sliema.

Hamrun took the lead four minutes in the second half when they were awarded a penalty by referee Mario Apap and from the penalty spot, Marco Criaco converted.

Sliema equalised on the 56th minute when following a good move by John Mintoff on the right flank, he served Younes Marzouk who flicked the ball past goalkeeper Manuel Bartolo.

The Wanderers went 2-1 ahead on the 62nd minute when off a Younes Marzouk corner, Michele Sansone’s cross was well-received by Ignacio Varela who beat the Hamrun goalkeeper from close range.

SLIEMA Jake Galea, Matias Muchardi, Kurt Shaw, Ignacio Varela, Ryan Fenech, Nii Nortey Ashong, Frank Temile (26′ John Mintoff), Michele Sansone, Claudio Pani, Stefano Bianciardi, Younes Marzouk.
Subs not used: Timothy Aquilina, Alex Muscat, Gareth Bartone, Omar Elouni, Peter Xuereb, Stefan Cassar.
Coach: Stefano Maccoppi
Asst. Coach: Ivan Woods

HAMRUN Manuel Bartolo, Enrico Pepe, Triston Caruana, Carlos Henneberg, Wilfried Domoraud, Andre Scicluna (86′ Ryan Darmanin), Marco Criaco, Karl Micallef, Orestis Nikolopoulos, Misael Miranda Gomez (60′ Conor Borg), Kevin Tulimieri.
Subs not used: Lydon Moore, Karl Schembri, Matthew Gauci, Cain Cutajar, Darren Borg.
Coach: Stefan Sultana

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Paul Apap
Fourth Official: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Yellow Cards: Bianciardi, Muchardi, Galea
BOV Player of the Match: