Women’s League to be played over three rounds

The Council of the Malta Football Association approved amendments to the regulations covering women’s football.

As from this season, both the BOV Women’s League and the Women’s Under-19 League will be played on three rounds, rather than in two phases where teams were divided into two sections.

Seven teams are taking part in the BOV Women’s League, namely Mgarr United, Kirkop United, Birkirkara, Hibernians, Swieqi United, Raiders Gharghur and Mosta.

Meanwhile eight teams are taking part in the Women’s Under-19 League, namely Raiders Gharghur, Swieqi United, Mtarfa, Mgarr United, Mosta, Kirkop United, Birkirkara and Hibernians while nine teams will be taking part in the first edition of the Women’s Under-15 League. These are Zebbug Rangers, Raiders Gharghur, Mtarfa, Senglea Athletic, Mgarr United, Swieqi United, Kirkop United, Birkirkara and Mosta.