Two Third Division clubs eliminated by Gozitans in FA Trophy preliminary round

Ghaxaq, Siggiewi, Munxar Falcons and Kercem Ajax made it to the first round of the FA Trophy after they claimed victories in four matches from the Preliminary Round on Saturday.

At the Sirens Stadium, Munxar Falcons defeated Third Division side Ta’ Xbiex 2-1.

Cleiton Jose Hinrichs put Munxar ahead on the 15th minute but Matthew Fenech levelled matters on the 31st. However an own goal on the 77th minute handed Munxar a 2-1 win.

In the first round, Munxar will be facing Kercem Ajax who defeated Third Division side Kirkop United 3-2 in another match at the Sirens Stadium.

Borja Polo Longarela put Kercem ahead on the 4th minute but Ayrton Buhagiar equalised on the 21st. Penalties by Sergio Martinez Villa on the 30th and Ali Oularbi five minutes later restored the lead for Kercem with Ayrton Buhagiar reducing the gap for Kirkop on the 58th.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Third Division side Ghaxaq beat Zebbug Rovers 4-1.

A Jurgen Gerafa penalty on the 23rd minute but Ghaxaq ahead but Tiago Barbosa converted a penalty to level matters eight minutes from the end of the first half. However in added time, Dean Agius restored the lead for Ghaxaq. Late in the second half, Uros Markovic and Neil Brownrigg extended the lead with goals on the 79th and 84th.

In the first round, Ghaxaq take on Mtarfa.

In another match at the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Siggiewi managed to beat Marsaskala 4-2 on penalties following a goalless draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time.

Siggiewi will be facing Victoria Hotspurs in the next round.