FA Trophy: Xewkija hit seven past Birzebbuga

Gozitan side Xewkija Tigers registered a most comfortable 7-2 win over Second Division side Birzebbuga St. Peter’s in a match from the second round of the FA Trophy at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Jose Carlos Nogueira Junior put Xewkija ahead after just four minutes and Joseph Mario Vella doubled the score on the 19th. Claudio Antunes Pavlidis scored twice on the 34th and 58th to put the Tigers four goals ahead. Andrea Sant reduced the gap on the hour but two minutes later, Claudio Antunes made it 5-1. Andrea Sant converted a penalty on the 66th for Birzebbuga but substitute Michael Camilleri scored twice on the 77th and 86th to extend the lead further.

Nadur Youngsters also managed to eliminate a Maltese team – First Division side Vittoriosa Stars – 3-0 at the Sirens Stadium. Lucas Barreto da Silva scored twice on the 10th and 41st with Brandon Said adding another on the 91st minute.

At the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Kercem Ajax defeated First Division side Fgura United 2-1. Ali Oularbi put Kercem ahead on the 25th minute and although Carlos Valero Gonzalez equalised on the 77th, Elton Vella notched the winner one minute from time.

The fourth Gozitan team to make it to the next round were Victoria Hotspurs who defeated another Gozitan team – Xaghra United 3-0 at the Kercem Ajax Stadium. Henrique Maciel put the Hotspurs ahead on the 9th minute and goals by Christain Mercieca on the 73rd and Elton Alexande da Silva on the 79th sealed the issue for the Gozitan champions.

First Division side Qormi registered a narrow 1-0 win over Second Division side Luqa St. Andrew’s at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Tensior Gusman scored the all-important goal on the 34th minute.

In another match at the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Zejtun Corinthians defeated Naxxar Lions 2-1 in a clash between two First Division sides. Robeiro do Nascimento Santos put Zejtun ahead on the 25th, Edson Farias Cerqueira equalised on the 45th but Jurgen Suda converted a penalty for Zejtun eight minutes from time.

At the Luxol Stadium, a goal by Carl Abela four minutes from time handed Second Division side Zabbar St. Patrick a narrow win over Third Division side Attard.

In another match at the Luxol Stadium, First Division side Zebbug Rangers defeated Kalkara from Division 2 by three goals to one. A goal by Muda Fagbeja after just two minutes put the Rangers ahead. Larson Mallia equalised six minutes from the end of the first half but Muda Fagbeja scored again on the 71st to make it 2-1. Ryan Zammit sealed the issue with a goal on the 91st minute.

Qormi, Zejtun Corinthians, Zebbug Rangers, Zabbar St. Patrick, Kercem Ajax, Nadur Youngsters, Victoria Hotspurs and Xewkija Tigers join Lija Athletic, Pietà Hotspurs, St. Andrews, Swieqi United, Rabat Ajax, Mgarr United, Melita and San Gwann and the fourteen teams from the Premier League in the third round which will be played in the first weekend of December.

Mon-28-Oct18:00Centenary StadiumDingli SwallowsvsMqabba
Mon-28-Oct20:15Centenary StadiumPembroke AthletavsXghajra Tornados