FA Trophy: Mqabba, Pembroke last two teams to make it to third round

First Division sides Mqabba and Pembroke Athleta were the last two teams to secure a place in the third round of the FA Trophy as the last two matches from the second round were played at the Centenary Stadium on Monday.

A Ion Alin Margarit hat-trick handed Mqabba a 3-1 win over Dingli Swallows. Margarit put Mqabba ahead on the 2nd minute, doubled the score on the 10th and scored a third on the 19th with Mark Vassallo reducing the gap on the 35th.

On the other hand, Pembroke Athleta defeated Xghajra Tornados 3-0 courtesy of a Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza penalty on the 42nd, a Luka Mijic goal on the 71st and a penalty by Joao Pedro Oliveira Santos on the 90th.

The thirty two teams in the third round of the FA Trophy are therefore the fourteen Premier League clubs, Lija Athletic, Mqabba, Pembroke Athleta, Pietà Hotspurs, St. Andrews, Swieqi United, Qormi, Zejtun Corinthians, Zebbug Rangers from Division 1, Rabat Ajax, Mgarr United, Melita, Rabat Ajax, San Gwann and Zabbar St. Patrick from Division 2 and Gozitan team Kercem Ajax, Nadur Youngsters, Victoria Hotspurs and Xewkija Tigers.

One comment

Comments are closed.