Birkirkara win Women’s Super Cup

Birkirkara, winners of the double in women’s football last season, lifted the first honour for this season as they defeated last season’s league runners-up and knock-out finalists Mgarr United 5-0 at the National Stadium on Friday.

The Stripes managed to take the lead on 33 minutes thanks to Ann-Marie Said who flicked the ball past goalkeeper Patricia Ebejer from close range.

Birkirkara doubled the score on the 75th minute thanks to Raina Giusti whose rising shot from the right gave the Mgarr goalkeeper no chance.

Three minutes later, Loza Abera increased the lead with a powerful shot from the left which stunned goalkeeper Patricia Ebejer.

Six minutes from time, Loza Abera Geinore added another when she advanced into the area and rounded the goalkeeper before placing the ball at the back of the net.

On the 89th, Loza Abera completed her hat-trick with a powerful long-distance shot which beat the Mgarr custodian for a final 5-0 score.

Birkirkara BOV Women’s Super Cup Winners 2019. Photo courtesy of Bank of Valletta

B’KARA Janice Xuereb, Gabriella Zahra, Ann-Marie Said, Stephania Farrugia, Tracy Teuma (87′ Simone Buttigieg), Alishia Sultana, Loza Abera Geinore, Kailey Willis (80′ Jelena Sakic), Raina Giusti, Yasmeen Marie Vella (63′ Samantha Zarb), Esther Douye Toikumo (68′ Veronique Mifsud)

MGARR Rachelle Lynn Borg (19′ Patricia Ebejer), Haley Bugeja, Abigail Camilleri (86′ Leanne Cefai), Maia Melanie Debono, Jasmine Vella Turner, Francesca Chircop (78′ Yolande Attard), Rebecca Bajada, Charlene Cassia, Brenda Borg, Amber Grech, Roxanne Micallef (77′ Claudette Xuereb).

Referee: Joseph Scerri
Assistant Referees: Krisztian Kavai, Andrea Pavia
Fourth Official: Tesmarie Busuttil