UEFA Nations League 2020/21 draws to be held on Tuesday

The draw for the 2020/21 UEFA Nations League league phase will be held on Tuesday at 18:00 in Amsterdam.

The 55 associations have been split into four Leagues according to their position in the UEFA National Team Coefficient Rankings (1–16 in League A, 17–32 in League B, 33-48 in League C, 49–55 in League D). Within each League teams have been subdivided into two (League D) or four pots (for Leagues A, B and C), again according to the rankings.

Malta will be playing once again in League D which will feature seven teams divided into two groups – one of four teams and one of three teams.

Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia and Liechtenstein are in Pot 1 while Andorra, Malta and San Marino are in Pot 2.

The draw starts with League D and Pot 2, which contains three balls, with teams assigned to groups in ascending order from D1 to D2. The draw continues with Pot 1. The draws for the other Leagues follow a similar procedure, though with four pots.

League A 

Pot 1: Portugal, Netherlands, England, Switzerland 
Pot 2: Belgium, France, Spain, Italy 
Pot 3: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden 
Pot 4: Croatia, Poland, Germany, Iceland 

League B 

Pot 1: Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic 
Pot 2: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland 
Pot 3: Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland 
Pot 4: Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary, Romania 

League C 

Pot 1: Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Georgia 
Pot 2: North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Cyprus 
Pot 3: Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Luxembourg 
Pot 4: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova 

League D 

Pot 1: Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein 
Pot 2: Andorra, Malta, San Marino

Teams play each other home and away, with the four group winners of League A qualifying for the UEFA Nations League Finals in June 2021 that feature semi-finals, a third-place match and the final. The group winners in Leagues B, C and D gain promotion and those who finish bottom of the groups in Leagues A and B will be relegated. 

As League C has four groups while League D has only two, the two League C teams to be relegated will be determined by two-leg play-offs in March 2022. If a team due to participate in the play-offs qualifies for the 2022 FIFA World Cup play-offs, the League C teams ranked 47th and 48th in the overall UEFA Nations League rankings are automatically relegated. 

UEFA will confirm the 162 League phase fixtures, with dates and kick-off times, as soon as possible after the draw. Kick-off times are 15:00 CET (Saturday and Sunday, optional), 18:00 CET and 20:45 CET. Matchweeks are below:

Matchday 1: 3–5 September 2020 
Matchday 2: 6–8 September 2020 
Matchday 3: 8–10 October 2020 
Matchday 4: 11–13 October 2020 
Matchday 5: 12–14 November 2020 
Matchday 6: 15–17 November 2020 
Finals: 2, 3, 6 June 2021 
Relegation play-offs: 24, 25, 28, 29 March 2022