Floriana, Valletta, Hibs and Sirens given all-clear to participate in UEFA competitions

The Member Clubs Licensing Board of the Malta Football Association met on Thursday to evaluate the UEFA licence applications submitted by clubs. Six BOV Premier League clubs have obtained a UEFA licence for season 2020-21 after meeting the licensing criteria established by UEFA and the guidelines issued by the European football body on April 23, 2020.

The six clubs are Balzan FC, Floriana FC, Gżira United FC, Hibernians FC, Sirens FC and Valletta FC.

Four other clubs, namely Birkirkara FC, Ħamrun Spartans FC, Mosta FC and Sliema Wanderers FC, withdrew their application.

Floriana, who finished on top the BOV Premier League table, will be participating in the UEFA Champions League while Valletta, Hibernians and Sirens will take part in the UEFA Europa League.

Meanwhile with regard to the women’s competitions, the Member Clubs Licensing Board has approved the licence application submitted by the Birkirkara FC Women’s Team.

The Stripes will therefore represent Malta in the UEFA Women’s Champions League.