National squad off to the Faroe Islands

Malta coach Devis Mangia has finalised his squad selection for the opening UEFA Nations League Group D1 match against the Faroe Islands at the Torsvollur Stadium on Thursday, kick-off at 20:45.

Having named a 25-man squad, Mangia selected the final 23 players ahead of the trip to Torshavn on Tuesday on a Malta MedAir flight at 14:15.

Mangia has awarded a first official call-up to several players, namely goalkeepers Jake Galea and Andreas Vella, Enrico Pepe, Neil Tabone, Teddy Teuma, who reported for international duty on Monday, Shaun Dimech and Paul Mbong. Young goalkeeper Vella has been promoted from the Malta Under-21 squad as a replacement for Matthew Calleja Cremona who is unavailable for personal reasons.

From the initial squad announced last Friday, Myles Beerman and Cain Attard have missed out on a place in the final list.

The UEFA Nations League Group D1 opener against the Faroe Islands will be the first match for Malta under Mangia’s guidance as the friendly matches against Gibraltar and Azerbaijan, which were scheduled to take place in March, as well as the friendlies planned for June, including one against Portugal, were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

After the away match against the Faroe Islands, Malta host Latvia in their second Group D1 fixture at the National Stadium on Sunday with both games being played behind closed doors.


Henry Bonello (Valletta); Jake Galea (Sliema Wanderers); Andreas Vella (Santa Lucia).

Andrei Agius (Hibernians); Jean Borg (Valletta); Steve Borg (Gżira United); Zach Muscat (No Club); Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara)

Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana); Triston Caruana (Valletta); Juan Corbalan (Ħamrun Spartans); Jake Grech (Hibernians); Matthew Guillaumier (Birkirkara); Joseph Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans); Rowen Muscat (Valletta); Steven Pisani (Balzan); Neil Tabone (Żejtun Corinthians); Teddy Teuma (Royale Union Saint-Gilloise – Belgium).

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians); Shaun Dimech (Valletta); Luke Gambin (Colchester United – England); Paul Mbong (Birkirkara); Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta).