Hibernians eliminated after narrow defeat to Fehérvár

A goal just past the hour was enough for MOL Fehérvár to beat Hibernians 1-0 in the second qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League at the Centenary Stadium on Thursday.

The Hungarians therefore reach the third qualifying round where they will be meeting either Servette or Stade Reims.

Hibs coach Stefano Sanderra welcomed back Ferdinando Apap but lacked the suspended Bjorn Kristensen.

The visitors held the initiative during the first half, going close on the 4th minute when off a cross by Ivan Petriak from the left, Calleja Cremona deflected the ball with Loic Nego failing to connect. Three minutes later, an intelligent pass by Zivzivadze put Petriak all alone in front of the goalkeeper but concluded wide.

Petriak had a shot from the edge of the area ending just wide on 13 minutes and on the 29th, the same player served Loic Nego whose conclusion was blocked by Apap.

On 41 minutes, Petriak served Fiola inside the area and off the latter’s cross from the left, Budu Zivzivadze’s close-range effort was blocked by Agius.

Thirteen minutes in the second half, Attila Fiola concluded a good move on the left with a fine angled shot which just scraped the post and a minute later, Lyes Houri’s effort from outside the area was deflected into a corner.

Fehervar managed to break the deadlock on the 61st minute when off an Ivan Petriak corner from the right, Shola Shodiya headed the ball, anticipating Stopira and Boban Nikolov placed the ball at the back of the net from close range. 

The Hungarians maintained the pressure and on the 68th, Loic Nego rounded Andrei Agius on the left and served Petriak who hit wide.

In the dying minutes, the Paolites went all out in search of the equaliser and Gabi Izquier had an angled shot from the left deflected into a corner and on the 90th, Jurgen Degabriele was unlucky to hit the crossbar.

Two minutes in added time, Shola Shodiya was sent off for Hibernians after bringing Nego down in a swift counter-attack for Fehervar.

HIBS Matthew Calleja Cremona, Ferdinando Apap, Leandro Almeida, Ayrton Attard (83’ Dunstan Vella), Jake Grech, Jurgen Degabriele, Zachary Grech (64’ Rundell Winchester), Gabriel Izquier Artilesa, Shola Shodiya, Andrei Agius, Jose Wilkson Teixeira (75’ Edafe Uzeh).

FEHERVAR Adam Kovacsik, Attila Fiola, Visar Musliu, Ivan Petriak (82’ Evandro da Silva), Boban Nikolov, Budu Zivzivadze, Loic Nego, Stopira, Bedeguz Bolla, Alef (51’ Mate Patkai), Lyes Houri.

Referee: Ivaylo Stoyanov (BUL)