Mark Gatt names women’s squad ahead of Denmark qualifier

Malta women’s coach Mark Gatt has named a squad of 20 players for the UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 qualifier against Denmark, being played behind closed doors at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday (kick-off: 18.30). 

Gatt has kept faith with most of the players who were part of the squad for the two previous qualifiers – the 2-1 victory over Georgia and the 3-2 defeat to Bosnia & Herzegovina in March.

The Maltese squad for Tuesday’s qualifier comprises several foreign-based players, including Sassuolo forward Haley Bugeja, buoyed by her positive Serie A debut, Italy-based Nicole Sciberras, who plays for Juventus, Lazio duo Emma Lipman and Rachel Cuschieri, Martina Borg, of Sassari Torres, Maria Farrugia, who plays for Sunderland AFC Ladies, and the returning Ylenia Carabott who recently joined Belgian side RCSC Charleroi.

Malta champions Birkirkara are represented by six players while five players in Gatt’s squad are on the books of Swieqi United. Experienced Swieqi United defender Charlene Zammit is one game away from her 70th cap. Mġarr United and Raiders Għargħur are also represented with Brenda Borg and Jodie Attard respectively.

The Maltese girls have gained four points from seven matches in Group B following a 1-1 draw against Israel and the Georgia victory. After facing Denmark, Gatt’s team will wrap up their commitments with an away double-header against Georgia and Israel.

Denmark are sharing top spot with Italy in Group B with 18 points. They have travelled to Malta from Sarajevo on the back of a 4-0 victory over Bosnia & Herzegovina.


Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara); Jodie Attard (Raiders Għargħur).

Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara); Emma Lipman (Lazio, Italy); Ann-Marie Said (Birkirkara); Nicole Sciberras (Juventus, Italy); Alishia Sultana (Birkirkara); Charlene Zammit (Swieqi United).

Brenda Borg (Mġarr United); Ylenia Carabott (RCSC Charleroi, Belgium); Rachel Cuschieri (Lazio, Italy); Jade Flask (Swieqi United); Veronique Mifsud (Birkirkara); Dorianne Theuma (Swieqi United); Emma Xuereb (Swieqi United); Gabriella Zahra (Birkirkara); Shona Zammit (Swieqi United).

Martina Borg (Sassari Torres, Italy); Haley Bugeja (Sassuolo, Italy); Maria Farrugia (Sunderland AFC Ladies, England).