Zejtun rescue a point in a draw with Senglea

Zejtun Corinthians scored late in the game to cancel Senglea Athletic’s early lead as the two teams earned a point in a 1-1 draw at the Centenary Stadium on Friday.

This was the second point for the Corinthians following the draw with Santa Lucia and the first for Senglea after the 0-4 defeat to Lija Athletic.

Photos (above): Copyright © www.stephengatt.com

Both sides had a number of changes from their last outing. Following the defeat to Lija, Senglea coach Ryan Newell handed Andre Scicluna and Jan Tanti a place in the starting line-up along new signings Ricardo Martin and Luis Riascos with Alan Abela being included as a substitute. 

Zejtun, on the other hand, had Edward Herrera, Dylan Agius and Ricardo Silva Faria replacing Kemar Reid, Anderson de Barros and Robeiro do Nascimento.

Senglea managed to take the lead on the 9th minute courtesy of Dibola Diwoto Junior whose fine shot from the edge of the area beat goalkeeper Christian Cassar.

However, twelve minutes from time, Zejtun notched the equaliser when a Marcelo Pereira Muniz effort from outside the area hit the foot of the upright and off the rebound, substitute Rafael de Fex Marriaga slotted the ball past substitute goalkeeper Dorian Bugeja from the left.

SENGLEA Matthew Farrugia (57’ Dorian Bugeja), Nikola Terzin, Zack Cassar, Kevaughn Atkinson, Igor Misan (83’ Daneel Abela), Uros Parezanin, Ricardo Adrian Martin, Jan Tanti (90’ Alan Abela), Luis Riascos Torres, Andre Scicluna, Dibola Diwoto Junior.
Subs not used: Joseph Attard, Firas Aboulezz, Luca Brincat, Lee Galea.
Coach: Ryan Newell
Asst. Coach: Noel Azzopardi

ZEJTUN Christian Cassar, Diego Albanese, Lucas Gama Moreira, Dylan Agius (55’ Rafael De Fex Marriaga), Jurgen Suda, Marcelo Pereira Muniz, Gianluca Bugeja (65’ Anderson De Barros), Fernando Jose Gomes Junior, Ricardo Silva Faria, Edward Herrera (79’ Christian Grech), Gillmore Azzopardi.
Subs not used: Daniel Grima, Alessio Cassar, Keelan Azzopardi, Nicholas Fava.
Coach: Orosco Anonam
Asst. Coach: Paul Bugeja

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Mitchell Scerri
Fourth Official: Glen Tonna
Yellow Cards: Misan, Martin, Gama Moreira, Muniz, Herrera, CassarBOV Player of the Match: Dibola Diwoto Junior