Stoppage-time goals by Martin Davis hand Gzira shock win over Valletta

Martin Davis scored twice in added time as Gzira United came from behind to beat Valletta 3-1 at the National Stadium on Wednesday.

This was the first win for Gzira after a defeat to Floriana in their first outing and a 1-1 draw with Tarxien Rainbows during the weekend. On the other hand, for Valletta, this was the first defeat after two wins in the first two matches.

The Citizens went close on the 29th minute with a Taylon Correa solo effort, concluded with an angled shot from the left which hit the upright.

Valletta took the lead one minute from the end of the first half thanks to a fine header by Matteo Piciollo following a cross by Santiago Malano from the right.

However, two minutes in added time for the first half, Mihailo Jovanovic was adjudged to have fouled Amadou Samb inside the area; the referee ordered a penalty and Samb made no mistake from the penalty spot.

The game seemed heading for a draw but two minutes from time, Jonathan Caruana tried to serve goalkeeper Henry Bonello, who could only attempt to clear due to Omar Elouni’s marking and Martin Davis took full advantage of the clearance, hitting home.

On the 94th minute, Gzira sealed the issue with a third goal as Martin Davis, served on the right by Correa, rounded Caruana and beat Bonello with the ball hitting the crossbar before ending at tieback of the net.

VALLETTA Henry Bonello, Jonathan Caruana, Triston Caruana (Nicholas Pulis 83’), Santiago Malano (Miguel Angel Alba 83’), Taylon Correa Marcolino, Matteo Piciollo (Leandro Aguirre 72’), Kyrian Nwoko (Shaun Dimech 58’), Enmy Pena Beltre, Joseph Zerafa, Rowen Muscat, Mihailo Jovanovic.
Subs not used: Yenz Cini, Sheldon Mackay, Ryan Tonna.
Coach: Jesmond Zerafa

GZIRA Justin Haber, Gabriel Bohrer Mentz, Steve Borg, Nikolai Muscat, Martin Davis, Hamed Kone (Clyde Borg 63’), Jackson Usuga Mendoza, Ricardo Correa Duarte, Sacha Borg, Amadou Samb, Jefferson de Assis (Omar Elouni 82’).  
Subs not used: Anthony Curmi, Andrew Cohen, Dexter Xuereb, Nevin Portelli, Alexander Scicluna.
Coach: Darren Abdilla

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, Thomas Debono
Fourth Official: Darryl Agius
Yellow Cards: Elouni, Dimech, Davis
BOV Player of the Match: Ricardo Correa Duarte