Devis Mangia names final squad ahead of Andorra, Latvia matches

Devis Mangia, the Head Coach of the National Teams, has finalised his squad selection for the UEFA Nations League Group D1 matches away to Andorra and Latvia.

Having called an expanded squad of 28 players for yesterday’s friendly match against Gibraltar, which saw Malta emerge 2-0 winners, Mangia has reduced his squad to 25 players ahead of the squad’s departure to Andorra on Thursday, departing at 13:00 to Barcelona.

Valletta striker Kyrian Nwoko, scorer of Malta’s opening goal in the Gibraltar win, has had to pull out of the squad because of the injury he suffered in the first half of Wednesday’s friendly at the National Stadium.

The other two players who have not been included in the travelling squad are Ferdinando Apap, of Hibernians, and Joseph Muscatt, of German club SC Paderborn.

Matthew Guillaumier will miss Saturday’s game against Andorra as he serves a one-match ban but the Ħamrun Spartans midfielder will be available for the Latvia match on Tuesday.

Malta have one point after their opening two UEFA Nations League qualifiers, the same as Andorra.


Henry Bonello (Valletta); Matthew Calleja Cremona (Hibernians); Jake Galea (Sliema Wanderers).

Andrei Agius (Hibernians); Samir Arab (Balzan); Steve Borg (Gżira United); Triston Caruana (Valletta); Zach Muscat (Casa Pia AC – Portugal); Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara); Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderers).

Cain Attard (Birkirkara); Myles Beerman (Sliema Wanderers); Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana); Matthew Guillaumier (Ħamrun Spartans); Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians); Joseph Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans); Rowen Muscat (Valletta); Steven Pisani (Balzan); Teddy Teuma (Royale Union Saint-Gilloise – Belgium).

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians); Shaun Dimech (Valletta); Luke Gambin (Colchester United – England); Jake Grech (Hibernians); Paul Mbong (Birkirkara); Luke Montebello (Birkirkara).