Hibs stage comeback to earn a point in 2-2 draw with Hamrun

Hibernians came back from two goals down to earn a point in a 2-2 draw with Hamrun Spartans in a rain-soaked match at the Hibernians Stadium on Saturday.

A draw which puts the Paolites, once again on top, this time with Gzira United after the Maroons defeated Sliema Wanderers earlier on Saturday.

For the Spartans, this was a disappointing result as they seemed destined to return to winning ways after a defeat and two back-to-back 2-2 draws. This was in fact the third consecutive 2-2 draw for Mark Buttigieg’s side.

Hamrun managed to take the lead on the 20th minute when off a cross by Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares from the left, Franklin Sasere controlled the ball before hitting home from in front of the goalkeeper.

Two minutes later, Ige Adeshina served Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares whose fine shot from outside the area beat the Hibernians goalkeeper.

Hibs reduced the gap on the 29th minute thanks to a great direct freekick by Jose Wilkson Teixeira which ended in the top left corner, behind goalkeeper Manuel Bartolo.

One minute from the end of the first half, the Paolites were unlucky not to equalise when Bjorn Kristensen’s powerful drive hit the crossbar with the ball bouncing a few centimetres off the goal line with Jake Grech’s header being saved with particular difficulty by Bartolo.

Ten minutes from time, Hibs notched the equaliser when they were awarded a penalty after Andrei Agius was pushed inside the area by Joseph Mbong and Jake Grech converted from the penalty spot.

On the 90th minute, Hibernians were reduced to ten men after Bjorn Kristensen received a second yellow card for a foul on Marcelina.

HIBS Matthew Calleja Cremona, Leandro Almeida da Silva, Jake Grech, Jurgen Degabriele (88′ Rundell Winchester), Bjorn Kristensen, Dunstan Vella, Zachary Karl Grech (52′ Karolis Laukzemis), Gabriel Izquier Artiles, Haruna Shola Shodiya (75′ Ayrton Attard), Andrei Agius, Jose Wilkson Teixeira (88′ Matthew Ellul). 
Coach: Stefano Sanderra

HAMRUN Manuel Bartolo, Darko Gojkovic, Matthew Guillaumier, Joseph Mbong, Ailton Jorge Soares, Franklin Sasere (73′ Marcelo Barbosa Junior), Abdullahi Ige Adeshina (68′ Arthur Oyama), Juan Carlos Corbalan, Predrag Djordjevic, Karl Micallef, Emerson Marcelina.
Coach: Mark Buttigieg

Referee: Glen Tonna
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Mitchell Scerri
Fourth Official: Alex Johnson
Yellow Cards: Z. Grech, J. Degabriele, B. Kristensen; J. Mbong, M. Guillaumier
Red Cards: 90’ Bjorn Kristensen
BOV Player of the Match: Jurgen Degabriele